Audrey Niffengger is an American author of literary fiction, historical fiction, illustrated and graphic novels, in addition to being an artist. She is also a professor in the MFA Creative Writing Program at Columbia College Chicago. Audrey began making prints in 1978 as a student of William Wimmer. She trained as a visual artist at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, earning her MFA from Northwestern University. She is married to artist/writer Eddie Campbell.

Audrey Niffenegger made her debut as an author in 1986 with the illustrated novel The Spinster. Audrey’s early works were printed and bound by hand in editions of ten. Her first full-length novel was the 2003 book The Time Traveler’s Wife. Below is a list of Audrey Niffenegger’s books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when Audrey Niffenegger releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Spinster (1986)Description / Buy at
The Time Traveler's Wife (2003)Description / Buy at
The Three Incestuous Sisters (2005)Description / Buy at
Her Fearful Symmetry (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Graphic Novels

The Adventuress (2006)Description / Buy at
The Night Bookmobile (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Awake in the Dream World (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Mr. Wrong: Real-Life Stories about the Men We Used to Love(2007)Description / Buy at
Shadow Show: All-New Stories in Celebration of Ray Bradbury(2012)Description / Buy at
Magic: An Anthology of the Esoteric and Arcane(2012)Description / Buy at
The Future of Horror(2015)Description / Buy at
Shadow Show: Stories In Celebration of Ray Bradbury(2015)Description / Buy at

If You Like Audrey Niffenegger Books, You’ll Love…

Audrey Niffenegger Synopses: The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger is the story of Henry DeTamble, a dashing, adventuresome librarian who inadvertently travels through time, and Clare Abshire, an artist whose life takes a natural sequential course. Henry and Clare’s passionate affair endures across a sea of time and captures them in an impossibly romantic trap that tests the strength of fate and basks in the bonds of love.

The Three Incestuous Sisters is a an illustrated novel by Audrey Niffenegger. In this Gothic-style, adult fairy tale, Bettine, Ophile, and Clothilde live together in isolation near the sea, until the arrival of Paris, the lighthouse keeper’s son, who profoundly affects each sister emotionally.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Audrey Niffenegger Books

Leave a Reply