Barbara D’Amato is an author best known for writing the Cat Marsala Mystery series, the Figueroa and Bennis series, and the Dr. Gerritt Degraaf Mystery series. She has won numerous awards in her career including the first annual Mary Higgins Clark Award, the 1998 Carl Sandburg Award for Excellence in Fiction and the 1999 Readers Choice Award for Best Police Procedural.

D’Amato is a native of Michigan, but later moved to Chicago where she has spent much of her life. In addition to her work as a writer, she has also worked as an assistant surgical orderly, carpenter for stage magic illusions, assistant tiger handler, stage manager, and as a researcher for attorneys in criminal cases.

Get notified when Barbara D'Amato releases a new book at

Publication Order of Cat Marsala Mystery Books

Publication Order of Figueroa and Bennis Books

Killer.App (1996)Description / Buy at
Good Cop, Bad Cop (1998)Description / Buy at
Help Me Please (1999)Description / Buy at
Authorized Personnel Only (2000)Description / Buy at
Death of a Thousand Cuts (2004)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Gerritt De Graaf Books

The Eyes on Utopia Murders (2016)Description / Buy at
The Hands of Healing Murder (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

On My Honor (1989)Description / Buy at
White Male Infant (2002)Description / Buy at
Foolproof (With: Jeanne M. Dams,Mark Richard Zubro) (2009)Description / Buy at
Other Eyes (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Soon To Be a Minor Motion Picture (1994)Description / Buy at
Of Course You Know That Chocolate is a Vegetable (1998)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Of Course You Know That Chocolate is a Vegetable (1998)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Doctor, the Murder, the Mystery (1992)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Partners in Crime(1994)Description / Buy at
Malice Domestic 5(1996)Description / Buy at
Murder on Route 66(1998)Description / Buy at
Sisters on the Case(2007)Description / Buy at
Crimes by Moonlight(2010)Description / Buy at
Chicago Blues(2014)Description / Buy at
Silent Night, Deadly Night(2016)Description / Buy at

If You Like Barbara D’Amato Books, You’ll Love…

The Eyes on Utopia Murders is the first book in the Dr. Gerritt Degraaf Mystery series. The book sees a town that calls itself “The Most Peaceful Town in the World” that soon proves to be anything when the shooting starts. A series of incidents takes place and then a child goes missing. Someone from this quiet adult community is responsible and Gerritt DeGraaf has never seen such an unlikely assembly of suspects.

The Cat Marsala Mystery series begins with Hardball. The story starts with a bang when a bomb goes off. The bomb takes the life of Louise Sugarman and leaves Cat Marsala, a reporter, injured. Sugarman had many enemies as an advocate for the decriminalization of drugs and for treating addiction as a medical problem. Cat is outraged by the attack and resolves to find the killer. Her own investigation will lead to her confronting the issue head on, talking to people on both sides of the debate. She realizes that the drug problem is a complex issue and there is no shortage of suspects.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Barbara D’Amato Books

Leave a Reply