Barbara Nadel
Barbara Nadel is a English author of crime fiction and historical fiction novels. She writes the Inspector Ikmen, Francis Hancock and Hakim & Arnold series. Barbara has been referred to as “The Donna Leon of Istanbul,” referring to the fact that her style is similar to Leon’s, except her books are set in Turkey rather than Italy. She has been visiting Turkey for over 25 years. Barbara was born in London’s East End, has been trained as an actress and has worked in the mental health field. She now lives in the North of England.

Barbara Nadel became a published author in 1999 with the novel Belshazzar’s Daughter. In 2005, she won the CWA Silver Dagger for the novel Deadly Web, along with several other awards. Below is a list of Barbara Nadel’s books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when Barbara Nadel releases a new book at

Publication Order of Francis Hancock Books

Last Rights (2005)Description / Buy at
After the Mourning (2006)Description / Buy at
Ashes to Ashes (2008)Description / Buy at
Sure and Certain Death (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Hakim and Arnold Books

A Private Business (2012)Description / Buy at
An Act of Kindness (2013)Description / Buy at
Poisoned Ground (2014)Description / Buy at
Enough Rope (2015)Description / Buy at
Bright Shiny Things (2017)Description / Buy at
Displaced (2018)Description / Buy at
A Time to Die (2020)Description / Buy at
Web of Lies (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Inspector Ikmen Books

Belshazzar's Daughter (1999)Description / Buy at
A Chemical Prison/The Ottoman Cage (2000)Description / Buy at
Arabesk (2001)Description / Buy at
Deep Waters (2002)Description / Buy at
Harem (2003)Description / Buy at
Petrified (2004)Description / Buy at
Deadly Web (2005)Description / Buy at
Dance with Death (2006)Description / Buy at
A Passion for Killing (2007)Description / Buy at
Pretty Dead Things (2007)Description / Buy at
River of the Dead (2008)Description / Buy at
Death by Design (2010)Description / Buy at
A Noble Killing (2011)Description / Buy at
Dead of Night (2012)Description / Buy at
Deadline (2013)Description / Buy at
Body Count (2014)Description / Buy at
Land of the Blind (2015)Description / Buy at
On the Bone (2016)Description / Buy at
The House of Four (2017)Description / Buy at
Incorruptible (2018)Description / Buy at
A Knife to the Heart (2020)Description / Buy at
Blood Business (2020)Description / Buy at
Forfeit (2021)Description / Buy at
Bride Price (2022)Description / Buy at
Double Illusion (2023)Description / Buy at
The Darkest Night (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Mammoth Book of the Adventures of Professor Moriarty(2015)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Jack the Ripper Stories(2015)Description / Buy at
Sunshine Noir(2016)Description / Buy at

Note: A Chemical Prison was also published as The Ottoman Cage.

If You Like Barbara Nadel Books, You’ll Love…

Barbara Nadel Synopsis: In A Private Business by Barbara Nadel (book 1 of the Hakim & Arnold series), P.I. Lee Arnold is a former cop who runs a detective agency along with Mumtaz Hakim in an area of London full of conflict. When they’re approaching by a woman scared out of her wits, Arnold and Hakim look into her suspicions that she’s being followed. But what they find out ends up being worse than they expected.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Barbara Nadel Books

Leave a Reply