Barbara Samuel is an American author who also writes books under the names of Barbara O’Neal and Ruth Wind. Samuel is a multiple time winner of the prestigious RITA award from the Romance Writers of America and is also an inductee of the RWA Hall of Fame.

Barbara Samuel also includes recipes in many of her books and she loves to cook in her own life. Barbara is married to a British endurance athlete and hopes that he never loses his accent. They live in the beautiful state of Colorado in the city of Colorado Springs.

Get notified when Barbara Samuel releases a new book at

Publication Order of The Red Creek Brothers / Last Roundup Books

(as Ruth Wind)

Marriage Material (1997)Description / Buy at
Reckless (1997)Description / Buy at
Her Ideal Man (1997)Description / Buy at
Beautiful Stranger (2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Men of the Land Books

(as Ruth Wind)

Meant To Be Married (1998)Description / Buy at
Rio Grande Wedding (1999)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Rainsinger Books

(as Ruth Wind)

Publication Order of St. Ives Family Books

The Black Angel (1999)Description / Buy at
Night of Fire (2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Sisters of the Mountain Books

(as Ruth Wind)

Juliet's Law (2006)Description / Buy at
Desi's Rescue (2007)Description / Buy at
Miranda's Revenge (2007)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Strangers on a Train (As: Ruth Wind) (1989)Description / Buy at
Summer's Freedom (As: Ruth Wind) (1990)Description / Buy at
Light of Day (1990)Description / Buy at
A Minute to Smile (As: Ruth Wind) (1992)Description / Buy at
Jezebel's Blues (As: Ruth Wind) (1992)Description / Buy at
A Bed of Spices (1993)Description / Buy at
Breaking The Rules (As: Ruth Wind) (1994)Description / Buy at
A Winter Ballad (1994)Description / Buy at
The Last Chance Ranch (As: Ruth Wind) (1995)Description / Buy at
Lucien's Fall (1995)Description / Buy at
Dancing Moon (1996)Description / Buy at
Heart of a Knight (1997)Description / Buy at
For Christmas, Forever (As: Ruth Wind) (1998)Description / Buy at
In the Midnight Rain (As: Ruth Wind) (2000)Description / Buy at
No Place Like Home (2002)Description / Buy at
A Piece of Heaven (2002)Description / Buy at
The Goddesses of Kitchen Avenue (2004)Description / Buy at
Lady Luck's Map of Vegas (2004)Description / Buy at
Madame Mirabou's School of Love / The Scent of Hours (2006)Description / Buy at
The Diamond Secret (As: Ruth Wind) (2006)Description / Buy at
The Scent of Hours (As: Barbara O'Neal) (2006)Description / Buy at
The Lost Recipe for Happiness (As: Barbara O'Neal) (2008)Description / Buy at
The Secret of Everything (As: Barbara O'Neal) (2009)Description / Buy at
How to Bake a Perfect Life (2010)Description / Buy at
The Garden of Happy Endings (2012)Description / Buy at
The Sleeping Night (2012)Description / Buy at
The All You Can Dream Buffet (2014)Description / Buy at
The Art of Inheriting Secrets (As: Barbara O'Neal) (2018)Description / Buy at
When We Believed in Mermaids (As: Barbara O'Neal) (2019)Description / Buy at
The Lost Girls of Devon (As: Barbara O'Neal) (2020)Description / Buy at
Write My Name Across the Sky (As: Barbara O'Neal) (2021)Description / Buy at
This Place of Wonder (As: Barbara O'Neal) (2022)Description / Buy at
The Starfish Sisters (As: Barbara O'Neal) (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The True Story of Mattie Groves (2013)Description / Buy at
Dog Heart (2013)Description / Buy at
Faerie Lovers (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Care and Feeding of The Girls in The Basement (2011)Description / Buy at
Celebration Book (2011)Description / Buy at
Writing Romantic Fiction (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Firstborn Sons Books

Born Brave (As:Ruth Wind) (2001)Description / Buy at
Born a Hero (By: Paula Detmer Riggs) (2001)Description / Buy at
Born To Protect (By: Virginia Kantra) (2001)Description / Buy at
Born Royal (By: Alexandra Sellers) (2001)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Athena Force Books

Proof (By: Justine Davis) (2004)Description / Buy at
Alias (By: Amy J. Fetzer) (2004)Description / Buy at
Exposed (By: Katherine Garbera) (2004)Description / Buy at
The Promise (By: Debra Webb) (2004)Description / Buy at
Double-Cross (By: Meredith Fletcher) (2004)Description / Buy at
Pursued (By: Catherine Mann) (2004)Description / Buy at
Justice (By: Debra Webb) (2004)Description / Buy at
Countdown (As: Ruth Wind) (2005)Description / Buy at
Deceived (By: Carla Cassidy) (2005)Description / Buy at
Contact (By: Evelyn Vaughn) (2005)Description / Buy at
Payback (By: Harper Allen) (2005)Description / Buy at
Target (By: Cindy Dees) (2005)Description / Buy at
Checkmate (By: Doranna Durgin) (2005)Description / Buy at
Flashback (By: Justine Davis) (2006)Description / Buy at
Look-Alike (By: Meredith Fletcher) (2006)Description / Buy at
Pawn (By: Carla Cassidy) (2006)Description / Buy at
Comeback (By: Doranna Durgin) (2006)Description / Buy at
Line of Sight (By: Rachel Caine) (2007)Description / Buy at
The Good Thief (By: Judith Leon) (2007)Description / Buy at
Charade (By: Kate Donovan) (2007)Description / Buy at
Vendetta (By: Meredith Fletcher) (2007)Description / Buy at
Stacked Deck (By: Rachel Caine,Terry Watkins) (2007)Description / Buy at
Moving Target (By: Lori A. May) (2008)Description / Buy at
Breathless (By: Sharron McClellan) (2008)Description / Buy at
Flashpoint (By: Connie Hall) (2008)Description / Buy at
Beneath the Surface (By: Meredith Fletcher) (2008)Description / Buy at
Disclosure (By: Nancy Holder) (2008)Description / Buy at
Untouchable (By: Stephanie Doyle) (2008)Description / Buy at
Without a Trace (By: Sandra K. Moore) (2008)Description / Buy at
Exclusive (By: Katherine Garbera) (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Faery Magic(1998)Description / Buy at
A Mother's Love(2008)Description / Buy at
Chalice of Roses(2009)Description / Buy at
Whitehall - Season One Volume One(2016)Description / Buy at
Whitehall - Season One Volume Two(2016)Description / Buy at

If You Like Barbara Samuel / Barbara O’Neal / Ruth Wind Books, You’ll Love…

One of Barbara’s most popular books is How to Bake a Perfect Life: A Novel. The book introduces to a professional baker named Romana Gallagher. She is a good baker, but is going through a rough time and is one more disaster away from losing her business and everything that she’s worked so hard for. She had a daughter when she was fifteen, but she’s grown now and her soldier husband has been wounded in Afghanistan. She rushes over to be by his side, but leaves her daughter with Ramona. The young girl is rebellious and reminds Ramona of her young self. She shares her love of baking with her and begins to form a bond. While a man from her past comes around offering a much different type of bond.

The Garden of Happy Endings is another popular book by Barbara O’Neal. This book sees Reverend Elsa Montgomery suffering a crisis of faith and returning to her hometown of Pueblo, Colorado. She takes a job at a soup kitchen to try and ease her heavy heart. While her sister is going through her own troubles when she realizes her husband is a criminal. The two decide to pour themselves into a community garden which helps to renew and cleanse the two of them.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Barbara Samuel / Barbara O’Neal / Ruth Wind Books

Leave a Reply