Brian McClellan
Brian McClellan is an American author of epic fantasy novels. He is the author of the Powder Mage Trilogy. Brian studied writing under bestselling fantasy authors Brandon Sanderson and Orson Scott Card and was an honourable mention in the Writers of the Future Contest. Brian enjoys playing video games and reads both epic novels and history books. His hobbies include making homemade jam and keeping a beehive. Brian lives in Cleveland, Ohio with his wife and pets.

Brian McClellan made his debut as a published novelist with Promise of Blood in 2013. Below is a list of Brian McClellan’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Brian McClellan releases a new book at

Publication Order of Powder Mage Books

Promise of Blood (2013)Description / Buy at
The Girl of Hrusch Avenue (2013)Description / Buy at
Hope's End (2013)Description / Buy at
The Crimson Campaign (2014)Description / Buy at
Forsworn (2014)Description / Buy at
Servant of the Crown (2014)Description / Buy at
Murder at the Kinnen Hotel (2014)Description / Buy at
Return to Honor (2015)Description / Buy at
The Autumn Republic (2015)Description / Buy at
Ghosts of the Tristan Basin (2016)Description / Buy at
The Mad Lancers (2017)Description / Buy at
Siege of Tilpur (2018)Description / Buy at

Chronological Order of Powder Mage Books

Forsworn(2014)Description / Buy at
Servant of the Crown(2014)Description / Buy at
Murder at the Kinnen Hotel(2014)Description / Buy at
Hope's End(2013)Description / Buy at
The Girl of Hrusch Avenue(2013)Description / Buy at
Promise of Blood(2013)Description / Buy at
Return to Honor(2015)Description / Buy at
The Crimson Campaign(2014)Description / Buy at
The Autumn Republic(2015)Description / Buy at
Ghosts of the Tristan Basin(2016)Description / Buy at
The Mad Lancers(2017)Description / Buy at
Siege of Tilpur(2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Powder Mage Collections

In the Field Marshal's Shadow (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Glass Immortals Books

In the Shadow of Lightning (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Gods of Blood and Powder Books

Sins of Empire (2017)Description / Buy at
Wrath of Empire (2018)Description / Buy at
Blood of Empire (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of War Cry Books

Publication Order of Valkyrie Collections Books

Uncanny Collateral (2019)Description / Buy at
Blood Tally (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

If You Like Brian McClellan Books, You’ll Love…

Brian McClellan Synopsis: Forsworn by Brian McClellan is a prequel novella to the Powder Mage Trilogy series. Erika ja Leora is a powder mage in northern Kez, a place where her brand of sorcery is punishable by death. She is only protected by her family name and her position as heir to a duchy. When she decides to help a young commoner — a powder mage sentenced to die, fugitive from the law — she puts her life as well as her family’s reputation at risk and sets off to deliver her new ward to the safety of Adro while playing cat and mouse with the king’s own mage hunters and their captain, Duke Nikslaus.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Brian McClellan Books

Leave a Reply