Brittney Morris is an American author who debuted with her 2019 novel, SLAY. The book follows an online game called SLAY that is focused on black gamers and all that comes with that. The book has been called gripping and timely and firmly put Morris on the map as someone to watch in the YA genre.

Morris attended Boston University where she earned her BA in Economics. At the time she wanted to be a financial analyst, but plans changed soon after college. In addition to being a writer, Brittney also enjoys playing videos games and reading other books. She is married and lives in Philadelphia with her husband.

Get notified when Brittney Morris releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

SLAY (2019)Description / Buy at
Marvel’s Spider-Man: Miles Morales – Wings of Fury (2020)Description / Buy at
The Cost of Knowing (2021)Description / Buy at
The Jump (2023)Description / Buy at
Life is Strange: Heatwaves (2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Brittney Morris Books, You’ll Love…

SLAY is Brittney Morris’ debut novel that burst onto the scene in a major way. The book follows a seventeen-year-old honors student named Kiera Johnson who has a second life at home when she takes part in a massive multi-player online game known as SLAY. In the game, black gamers like Kiera take part in the role-playing game as they take on the roles of Nubian personas. What all of the players and her friends and family don’t know is that not only is a player of the game, she is the game’s developer. Her boyfriend Malcolm doesn’t even know which is probably a good thing because he thinks that games are the “downfall of the Black man.” One day, a dispute happens in the SLAY world which leads to a murder in real life. The game is labeled as a hub for thugs and criminals while a troll infiltrates the game to threaten to sue Kiera. Instead of giving up, Kiera decides to fight for her creation while doing her best to protect her identity in the process.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Brittney Morris Books

Leave a Reply