Camille Aubray is an author of women’s fiction novels. She also writes as C.A. Belmond. Camille pursued her writing studies at the University of London under the guidance of David Hare, Tom Stoppard, and Fay Weldon. She also trained with her mentor, Margaret Atwood, at the Humber College School of Creative Writing Workshop in Toronto. Aubray has worked as a staff writer for the daytime dramas One Life to Live and Capitol, taught writing at New York University, and written and produced content for ABC News, PBS, and A&E. She splits her time between Connecticut and the South of France.

Camille Aubray made her debut as a novelist in 2016 with Cooking for Picasso. Previously, she had written as C.A. Belmond in 2007. Below is a list of Camille Aubray’s books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when Camille Aubray releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Cooking for Picasso (2016)Description / Buy at
The Godmothers (2021)Description / Buy at
The Girl from the Grand Hotel (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Penny Nichols Books

(as C.A. Belmond)

A Rather Lovely Inheritance (2007)Description / Buy at
A Rather Curious Engagement (2008)Description / Buy at
A Rather Charming Invitation (2010)Description / Buy at
A Rather Remarkable Homecoming (2011)Description / Buy at

If You Like Camille Aubray Books, You’ll Love…

Camille Aubray Synopses: Cooking for Picasso is a standalone novel by Camille Aubray. The French Riviera, Spring 1936: Seventeen-year-old Ondine spends her days cooking with her mother at their family-owned Café Paradis in the off-season village of Juan-les-Pins. A mysterious new patron, traveling under an assumed name, makes an unusual request: he wants his lunch delivered to a nearby villa where he wishes to remain incognito.

This patron is none other than Pablo Picasso, standing at a pivotal crossroads in his personal and professional life. For Picasso, art and women are always intertwined. Meanwhile, Ondine, frustrated by her family’s constraints and nursing a broken heart, is just beginning to uncover her own talents and desires. Her encounter with Picasso will influence her life for many decades, as both the great artist and the young chef pursue their passions and destinies.

New York, Present Day: Céline, a Hollywood makeup artist, returns home for the holidays and learns from her mother, Julie, that her Grandmother Ondine once cooked for Picasso. Intrigued by her mother’s stories and hints of more family secrets, Céline sets out on a journey to Juan-les-Pins, the very town where Ondine and Picasso first met. In the lush and intoxicating atmosphere of the Côte d’Azur, Céline, aided by several eccentric fellow guests at a rigorous cooking class, uncovers truths about art, culture, cuisine, and love, helping her to embrace her own future.

The Godmothers by Camille Aubray is a standalone novel.

Meet the Godmothers:

  • Filomena: A clever and resourceful war refugee harboring a childhood secret.
  • Amie: A beautiful and dreamy French girl from upstate New York, fleeing an abusive husband to start anew.
  • Lucy: A tough-as-nails Irish lass who escapes a strict girls’ home to pursue a career as a nurse.
  • Petrina: The glamorous family daughter who graduates with honors from Barnard College, despite a traumatic past that nearly caused a family scandal.

These four women, brought together by fate, become godmothers to one another’s children, finding hope and shelter in their prosperous family and the luxurious setting of their Greenwich Village home.

However, their secret pasts begin to catch up with them, leading to unforeseen consequences and betrayals that threaten to unravel their carefully laid plans. When they unexpectedly have to face notorious gangsters like Frank Costello and Lucky Luciano, the four Godmothers must learn to put aside their differences. Working together, they strive to protect their loved ones and carve out their own unique paths to the futures they’ve always dreamed of.

The Girl from the Grand Hotel is a standalone title by Camilla Aubray. It is the summer of 1939. The glittering Côte d’Azur is having a particularly brilliant season, as the world’s wealthiest vacationers collide with Hollywood’s illustrious movie stars for the first-ever film festival on the French Riviera.

Into this hothouse playground comes Annabel Faucon, an American who has left behind a dead-end job and a broken heart in New York. She’s escaped to a summer stint at the fabulous Grand Hotel, where her uncle is the manager. But when a major movie studio brings its flock of stars to stay at the hotel, Annabel is handpicked to “keep an eye on” two of the mysterious arrivals: a screenwriter who’s been “in his cups” and a renegade actor who keeps luring the studio’s female star into his independent productions.

The arrival of Nazi guests only intensifies the situation. Suddenly everyone is watching everybody else during this feverish last summer before the outbreak of World War II. Faced with international spies who will stop at nothing to get what they want, Annabel finds herself embroiled in murder, intrigue, and a race against the clock to disrupt a secret Nazi communications system.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Camille Aubray Books

Leave a Reply