Carl Hiaasen is an American novelist who writes adult and young adult thriller and crime fiction novels, but the common theme in his novels no matter what age he is writing for is the setting of Florida. Anyone who has read his novels can tell he holds the Sunshine State in high regard.

Carl Hiaasen started writing with co-author Bill Montalbano, but when Montalbano took a job as a foreign correspondent, he went solo with novels such as Tourist Season, Native Tongue and Strip Tease. Strip Tease was adapted as the 1996 movie Striptease with Demi Moore and Burt Reynolds. Below is a list of Carl Hiaasen’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Carl Hiaasen releases a new book at

Publication Order of Black Lizard Books

Powder Burn (With: William D. Montalbano) (1981)Description / Buy at
Trap Line (With: William D. Montalbano) (1982)Description / Buy at
A Death in China (With: William D. Montalbano) (1984)Description / Buy at
The Sinners of San Ramon (1989)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Skink Books

Double Whammy (1987)Description / Buy at
Native Tongue (1991)Description / Buy at
Stormy Weather (1995)Description / Buy at
Sick Puppy (2000)Description / Buy at
Skinny Dip (2004)Description / Buy at
Star Island (2010)Description / Buy at
Skink--No Surrender (2014)Description / Buy at
Skink also plays a small role in the novel Squeeze Me.

Publication Order of Mick Stranahan Books

Publication Order of Juvenile Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Picture Books

The Edible Exile (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Team Rodent : How Disney Devours the World (1998)Description / Buy at
Kick Ass: Selected Columns of Carl Hiaasen (1999)Description / Buy at
Paradise Screwed: Selected Columns of Carl Hiaasen (2001)Description / Buy at
The Downhill Lie / Fairway to Hell (2008)Description / Buy at
Dance of the Reptiles (2014)Description / Buy at
Assume the Worst (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Naked Came the Manatee(1997)Description / Buy at
Writers on Writing(2001)Description / Buy at
The Best American Mystery Stories 2007(2007)Description / Buy at

Note: The Bad Lizard series was co-authored with William D. Montalbano. The Downhill Lie was also published as Fairway to Hell.

If You Like Carl Hiaasen Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Carl Hiaasen Books

6 Responses to “Order of Carl Hiaasen Books”

  1. NoRiffRaff: 5 years ago

    I’ve been trying and trying to remember your name!
    Today, I got an email from early books, and there you
    were!!! Powder Burn on sale today only.


  2. Talon96: 9 years ago

    You have Skinny Dip in twice


    • Brandon: 9 years ago

      It belongs in both series.


  3. michele: 11 years ago

    I’m reading skinny dip now. First Hiaasen book ever – love it! Such funny characters- especially this neanderthal guy called Tool….


  4. Parrotrob: 11 years ago

    You totally left out “Star Island”


    • Brandon: 11 years ago

      Fixed. Thanks!


Leave a Reply