Carmen Amato is an American author best known for writing the Detective Emilia Cruz series of books. Additionally, she has written the Galliano Club series as well as numerous standalone novels.

Prior to her work as an author, Amato worked for thirty years with the Central Intelligence Agency. Her work has won numerous awards over the years, including winning the Outstanding Series Award from CrimeMasters of America twice. She also won awards in here other career, namely the National Intelligence Award and the Career Intelligence Medal.

Get notified when Carmen Amato releases a new book at

Publication Order of Emilia Cruz Mysteries Books

Cliff Diver (2013)Description / Buy at
Hat Dance (2013)Description / Buy at
Made in Acapulco (2013)Description / Buy at
Diablo Nights (2014)Description / Buy at
King Peso (2016)Description / Buy at
Pacific Reaper (2017)Description / Buy at
43 Missing (2017)Description / Buy at
Russian Mojito (2019)Description / Buy at
Feliz Navidad From Acapulco (2019)Description / Buy at
Narco Noir (2020)Description / Buy at
The Listmaker of Acapulco (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Galliano Club Thrillers Books

Road to the Galliano Club (2022)Description / Buy at
Murder at the Galliano Club (2022)Description / Buy at
Blackmail at the Galliano Club (2023)Description / Buy at
Revenge at the Galliano Club (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Hidden Light of Mexico City (2011)Description / Buy at
Awakening Macbeth (2017)Description / Buy at
The Artist/El Artista (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Insider’s Guide to the Best of Mexico (2017)Description / Buy at
Insider's Guide to the Best of Mexican Holidays (2021)Description / Buy at

If You Like Carmen Amato Books, You’ll Love…

Cliff Diver is the first book in the Detective Emilia Cruz series. The series begins as Emilia becomes the first female police detective in Acapulco, but she has few that she can trust and there are others who are trying to get her out of the department. Among them is her lieutenant who, much like the rest of her department, is corrupt with drug cartel money. Then her lieutenant is murdered and she sets out to investigate him. The case is high profile and one wrong move could wreck her career. However, keeping her job may be the least of her problems as the killer puts her as their next target.

Road to the Galliano Club takes place in 1926 during Prohibition as three very different people, all running from the past, collide. Ruth is looking for a fresh start by opening a dance school about the Club, Luca has lost everything and all he has left is the Club, and then there’s Benny, a member of the North Side gang, who is looking to build his own bootlegging empire by taking over the Club. The book is inspired by Amato’s own grandfather who worked as a sheriff during Prohibition.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Carmen Amato Books

Leave a Reply