Caro Ramsay is a Scottish author of crime fiction novels. She writes the Anderson and Costello series. Caro was born and raised in Glasgow. She has been writing since she was 5, and would later develop an interest in crime fiction that would lead to her becoming a crime author herself. Aside from writing, Caro runs an osteopath centre where she treats both animals and humans. She writes in her spare time.

Caro Ramsay made her debut as a published novelist in 2007 with the novel Absolution. It was shortlisted for the CWA New Blood Dagger. Below is a list of Caro Ramsay’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Caro Ramsay releases a new book at

Publication Order of Anderson and Costello Books

Absolution (2007)Description / Buy at
Singing to the Dead (2009)Description / Buy at
Dark Water (2010)Description / Buy at
The Blood of Crows (2012)Description / Buy at
The Night Hunter (2014)Description / Buy at
The Tears of Angels (2015)Description / Buy at
Rat Run (2016)Description / Buy at
Standing Still (2017)Description / Buy at
The Suffering of Strangers (2018)Description / Buy at
The Sideman (2018)Description / Buy at
The Red, Red Snow (2020)Description / Buy at
On an Outgoing Tide (2021)Description / Buy at
The Silent Conversation (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of DCI Christine Caplan Books

The Devil Stone (2022)Description / Buy at
In Her Blood (2023)Description / Buy at
Out of the Dark (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Cursed Girls / Mosiac (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Killer Cookbook(2012)Description / Buy at

If You Like Caro Ramsay Books, You’ll Love…

Caro Ramsay Synopsis: Absolution is the first book in the Anderson and Costello series. It’s twenty years since police detective Alan McAlpine has set foot in Patrickhill Station – and more than twenty years since he fell forever in love with the mute, faceless woman he called Anna as she lay dying in Glasgow’s Western Infirmary. Daily he’d watched over her, and they had begun to communicate with each other, she by moving her wounded fingers. Her fingers could not tell the sad, unseasoned police cadet her name, however, or name for him the father of her newborn baby girl or identify the assailants who had flung the acid in her once incomparably beautiful face. Or tell him how she’d smuggled a cache of uncut diamonds into Scotland. Now McAlpine is back in Patrickhill, where he’s been summoned to head up the investigation of a disturbing murder case. Two women – their arms outstretched, their legs together and feet crossed at the ankle – have already died at the hands of a man the press has tagged the Crucifixion Killer. With crimes in the present continually detouring both McAlpine and the elusive killer he pursues into an unredeemed past, the mystery in this steely, piercing psychological thriller is as gripping as its twists are surprising. And absolution proves to be extreme.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Caro Ramsay Books

Leave a Reply