alex-gray (Photo Credit: Charlie Hopkinson)
Alex Gray is a Scottish author of crime fiction novels. She writes the Lorimer and Brightman series. Alex was born and educated in Glasgow, Scotland – the same city she sets her novels in. She earned an honours degree in English from the University of Strathclyde. Alex is a member of Erskine Writers Group and enjoys the camaraderie and encouragement of fellow writers. She has a busy schedule as a visiting speaker and loves meeting other groups and schools around the country. Alex lives outside Glasgow with her husband and their cats.

Alex Gray made her debut as a novelist in 2002 with the novel Never Somewhere Else. Below is a list of Alex Gray’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Alex Gray releases a new book at

Publication Order of Detective Lorimer Books

Never Somewhere Else (2002)Description / Buy at
A Small Weeping (2004)Description / Buy at
Shadows of Sounds (2005)Description / Buy at
The Riverman (2007)Description / Buy at
Pitch Black (2008)Description / Buy at
Glasgow Kiss (2009)Description / Buy at
Five Ways to Kill a Man (2010)Description / Buy at
Sleep Like the Dead (2011)Description / Buy at
A Pound Of Flesh (2012)Description / Buy at
The Swedish Girl (2013)Description / Buy at
The Bird That Did Not Sing / The Silent Games (2014)Description / Buy at
Keep the Midnight Out (2015)Description / Buy at
The Darkest Goodbye (2016)Description / Buy at
Still Dark (2017)Description / Buy at
Only the Dead Can Tell (2018)Description / Buy at
The Stalker (2019)Description / Buy at
When Shadows Fall (2020)Description / Buy at
Before the Storm (2021)Description / Buy at
Echo of the Dead (2022)Description / Buy at
Questions for a Dead Man (2023)Description / Buy at
Out of Darkness (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

If You Like Alex Gray Books, You’ll Love…

Alex Gray Synopsis: Never Somewhere Else by Alex Gray is the first book to feature DCI Lorimer. When three young women are discovered strangled and mutilated in a Glasgow park, it is up to DCI Lorimer to find their killer. Frustrated by a lack of progress in the investigation, Lorimer is forced to enlist the services of Dr. Solomon Brightman, psychologist and criminal profiler. Together they form an uneasy alliance. But when a homeless man is brought in for questioning the investigation takes a bizarre turn. Soon Lorimer has to scratch the surface of the polished Glasgow art world and reveal the dark layers hidden beneath…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Alex Gray Books

One Response to “Order of Alex Gray Books”

  1. Dianna Vera: 3 years ago

    Hi, I loved Before the Storm and wonder if there will be another novel in the series? I am curious to see what happens with the refugee who helped the police. You write extremely well! Thank you for sharing with us


Leave a Reply