Carol Lea Benjamin is an author of mystery novels and non-fiction books. She writes the Rachel Alexander and Dash series. Carol is highly regarded for her dog training work. She is a member of the International Association of Canine Professionals Hall of Fame. Carol lives in Greenwich Village, New York City with her husband and their dogs.

Carol Lea Benjamin made her debut as a published author in 1979 with the non-fiction book Dog Training for Kids. Her first novel was The Wicked Stepdog, published in 1982. Below is a list of Carol Lea Benjamin’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Carol Lea Benjamin releases a new book at

Publication Order of Rachel Alexander and Dash Books

This Dog for Hire (1996)Description / Buy at
The Dog Who Knew Too Much (1997)Description / Buy at
A Hell of a Dog (1998)Description / Buy at
Lady Vanishes (1999)Description / Buy at
The Wrong Dog (2000)Description / Buy at
The Long Good Boy (2001)Description / Buy at
Fall Guy (2004)Description / Buy at
Without a Word (2005)Description / Buy at
The Hard Way (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Wicked Stepdog (1982)Description / Buy at
Nobody's Baby Now (1983)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Dog Training For Kids (1976)Description / Buy at
Cartooning for Kids (1982)Description / Buy at
Dog Tricks (1982)Description / Buy at
Writing for Kids (1985)Description / Buy at
Dog Problems (1989)Description / Buy at
The Chosen Puppy (1990)Description / Buy at
Surviving Your Dog's Adolescence (1993)Description / Buy at
Dog Training in 10 Minutes (1997)Description / Buy at
Mother Knows Best (2002)Description / Buy at
Dog Smart (2007)Description / Buy at
Second-Hand Dog (2008)Description / Buy at
See Spot Sit (2008)Description / Buy at
Do Border Collies Dream of Sheep? (2010)Description / Buy at

Notes: Dog Tricks was co-authored by Capt. Arthur J. Haggerty. Do Border Collies Dream of Sheep? was co-authored by C. Denise Wall.

If You Like Carol Lea Benjamin Books, You’ll Love…

Carol Lea Benjamin Synopses: The Wicked Stepdog is a standalone novel by Carol Lea Benjamin. After her parents get divorced, Louise Branford must learn to deal not only with her stepmother, but with her stepmother’s dog as well.

Nobody’s Baby Now by Carol Lea Benjamin is a standalone title. 15-year-old Olivia Singer tries to attract the attentions of Brian Kaplan, and establish a relationship with her elderly grandmother.

The non-fiction book Dog Problems by Carol Lea Benjamin is a professional trainer’s guide to preventing and correcting aggression, destructiveness, housebreaking problems, excessive barking, dogfights, tugging, jumping, shyness, stealing, begging, car chasing, fear biting, object guarding, and much more.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Carol Lea Benjamin Books

Leave a Reply