Caroline Graham
Caroline Graham is an English author of mystery novels, in addition to being a playwright and screenwriter. She writes the Chief Inspector Barnaby series, which was adapted into the television series Midsomer Murders. Caroline was born in Nuneaton, England and attended Open University as well as the University of Birmingham (where she got her MA). Her novel The Killings at Badger’s Drift was named one of the Top 100 Crime Novels of All Time by the Crime Writers’ Association and also won the 1989 Macavity Award for Best First Novel. Caroline resides in Suffolk, England.

Caroline Graham became a published author in 1982 with the romance novel, Fire Dance. Following that, she switched to mystery novels. Below is a list of Caroline Graham’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Caroline Graham releases a new book at

Publication Order of Chief Inspector Barnaby Books

The Killings at Badger's Drift (1987)Description / Buy at
Death of a Hollow Man (1989)Description / Buy at
Death in Disguise (1992)Description / Buy at
Written in Blood (1995)Description / Buy at
Faithful Unto Death (1996)Description / Buy at
A Place of Safety (1999)Description / Buy at
A Ghost in the Machine (2004)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Fire Dance (1982)Description / Buy at
The Envy of the Stranger (1984)Description / Buy at
Murder at Madingley Grange (1990)Description / Buy at

If You Like Caroline Graham Books, You’ll Love…

Caroline Graham Synopses: In Murder at Madingly Grange by Caroline Graham, in order to get a quick buck, Simon Hannford arranges a 1930s-themed murder mystery weekend at his aunt’s old gothic mansion. However, plans go bad and the guests and house staff all have their own ideas. And when a real body turns up, Simon may have to do some real detective work of his own…

In The Envy of the Stranger by Caroline Graham, Roz Gilmour has two children, a husband, a good career, a comfortable North London home and is happy. However, there are those who don’t like her due to her success, and will do whatever it takes to get their revenge.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Caroline Graham Books

One Response to “Order of Caroline Graham Books”

  1. Glenda: 3 years ago

    Hi Ms. Graham,
    I absolutely love your Inspector Barnbay series,which I’ve experienced by watching Midsomer Murders. I have lost count how many times I’ve watched Episodes 1 thru 22.

    I do have to “beg” you to continue writing the series so they can be filmed and added to the Ovation channel.

    Glenda Dixon- USA


Leave a Reply