Carolly Erickson is an American author of historical fiction and non-fiction books. Whether in fiction or non-fiction, she has written about some of the most powerful female figures in history, such as Marie Antoinette, Mary, Queen of Scots, Anne Boleyn, Queen Elizabeth I, Queen Mary I, Catherine the Great, Queen Victoria and many others. Carolly lives in Hawaii.

Carolly Erickson has been published since 1971, with the non-fiction book The Records of Medieval Europe. Her career as a novelist began in 2005 with the novel The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette. Below is a list of Carolly Erickson’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Carolly Erickson releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette (2005)Description / Buy at
The Last Wife of Henry VIII (2006)Description / Buy at
The Secret Life of Josephine (2007)Description / Buy at
The Tsarina's Daughter (2008)Description / Buy at
The Memoirs of Mary Queen of Scots / Mary Queen of Scots (2009)Description / Buy at
Rival to the Queen (2010)Description / Buy at
The Favored Queen (2011)Description / Buy at
The Unfaithful Queen (2011)Description / Buy at
The Spanish Queen (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Records of Medieval Europe (1971)Description / Buy at
The Medieval Vision (1976)Description / Buy at
Civilization and Society in the West (1978)Description / Buy at
Bloody Mary (1978)Description / Buy at
Josephine (1980)Description / Buy at
Royal Panoply (1980)Description / Buy at
Great Harry (1980)Description / Buy at
The First Elizabeth (1983)Description / Buy at
Mistress Anne / Anne Boleyn (1984)Description / Buy at
Our Tempestuous Day (1986)Description / Buy at
Bonnie Prince Charlie (1989)Description / Buy at
To the Scaffold (1991)Description / Buy at
Great Catherine (1994)Description / Buy at
Her Little Majesty (1997)Description / Buy at
Arc of the Arrow (1998)Description / Buy at
Alexandra (2000)Description / Buy at
Lilibet (2004)Description / Buy at
The Girl from Botany Bay (2004)Description / Buy at
Brief Lives of the English Monarchs (2007)Description / Buy at

Note: The Memoirs of Mary Queen of Scots was also released under the title Mary Queen of Scots.

If You Like Carolly Erickson Books, You’ll Love…

Carolly Erickson Synopsis: The Last Wife of Henry VIII by Carolly Erickson is about Catherine Parr, the least known of the monarch’s wives. The least known of Henry VIII’s six wives was the cleverest of them all. Alluring, witty, and resourceful, she attracted the king’s lust and, though much in love with the handsome Thomas Seymour, was thrown into the intrigue-filled snakepit of the royal court. While victims of the king’s wrath suffered torture and execution, Catherine withstood the onslaught, even when Henry sought to replace her with a seventh wife. She survived her royal husband, and found happiness with Seymour – but it was shadowed by rivalry with the young Princess Elizabeth, whose affection Seymour coveted. Catherine won the contest, but at great cost.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Carolly Erickson Books

Leave a Reply