Catriona McPherson is a Scottish author of mystery and thriller novels. She writes the Dandy Gilver series. Catriona studied for her MA in English Language and Linguistics at Edinburgh University, before getting a job with the Edinburgh City Library. After a couple of years, she returned to university to study for her Ph.D. in semantics. In her final year, she opted to start her writing career rather than getting an academic job. When she isn’t writing, she enjoys reading, gardening, cooking, baking, cycling and running through walnut orchards. Catriona lives in Davis, California.

Catriona McPherson made her debut as a published author in 2005 with the novel After the Armistice Ball. Below is a list of Catriona McPherson’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Catriona McPherson releases a new book at

Publication Order of Dandy Gilver Books

After the Armistice Ball (2005)Description / Buy at
The Burry Man's Day (2006)Description / Buy at
Bury Her Deep (2007)Description / Buy at
The Winter Ground (2008)Description / Buy at
Proper Treatment of Bloodstains (2009)Description / Buy at
Unsuitable Day For A Murder (2010)Description / Buy at
Bothersome Number of Corpses (2012)Description / Buy at
A Deadly Measure of Brimstone (2013)Description / Buy at
The Reek of Red Herrings (2014)Description / Buy at
The Unpleasantness in the Ballroom (2015)Description / Buy at
The Most Misleading Habit (2016)Description / Buy at
Spot of Toil and Trouble (2017)Description / Buy at
A Step So Grave (2018)Description / Buy at
The Turning Tide (2020)Description / Buy at
The Mirror Dance (2021)Description / Buy at
The Witching Hour (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Last Ditch Mystery Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Growing Up Again (2007)Description / Buy at
Straight Up (2008)Description / Buy at
As She Left It (2013)Description / Buy at
The Day She Died (2014)Description / Buy at
Come to Harm (2015)Description / Buy at
The Child Garden (2015)Description / Buy at
Quiet Neighbors (2016)Description / Buy at
The Weight of Angels (2017)Description / Buy at
House. Tree. Person. (2017)Description / Buy at
Go to My Grave (2018)Description / Buy at
Strangers at the Gate (2019)Description / Buy at
A Gingerbread House (2021)Description / Buy at
In Place of Fear (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Strangely Funny(2013)Description / Buy at
Low Down Dirty Vote(2018)Description / Buy at
California Schemin': The 2020 Bouchercon Anthology(2020)Description / Buy at
Shattering Glass(2020)Description / Buy at

Note: The standalone titles Growing Up Again and Straight Up were written as Catriona McCloud.

If You Like Catriona McPherson Books, You’ll Love…

Catriona McPherson Synopsis: As She Left It is a standalone novel by Catriona McPherson. When she was twelve years old, Opal Jones escaped her mother’s endless drinking. Now, returning home following her mother’s passing, Opal feels like she’s gone back in time. Nosey Mrs. Pickess is still polishing her windows beyond sparkling clean. Fishbo, Opal’s old music teacher, still plays trumpet with his band. And much to Opal’s delight, her favourite neighbor, Margaret Reid, still keeps an eye on things from the walk in front of her house. But a tragedy has struck Mote Street. Margaret’s grandson, Craig, disappeared some ten years ago, and every day he’s not found, shame and sorrow settle deeper into the neighbourhood’s forgotten corners. As the door she closed on her own dark past begins to open, Opal finds more secrets than she can bear about the people who were once her friends.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Catriona McPherson Books

Leave a Reply