CC Benison
C.C. Benison is the pen name of Canadian author Douglas Whiteway, who writes mystery novels. He is the author of the Her Majesty Investigates and the Father Christmas Mysteries series. As Douglas Whiteway, he has worked for both the Winnipeg Tribune and the Winnipeg Free Press. Benison earned his B.A. in Religious Studies from the University of Manitoba and a journalism degree from Carleton University.

C.C. Benison became a published novelist in 1996 with the novel Death at Buckingham Palace. For that novel, he won the Arthur Ellis Award for Best First Novel. Below is a list of C.C. Benison’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when C.C. Benison releases a new book at

Publication Order of Her Majesty Investigates Books

Death at Buckingham Palace (1996)Description / Buy at
Death at Sandringham House (1996)Description / Buy at
Death at Windsor Castle (1998)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Father Christmas Mystery Books

Twelve Drummers Drumming (2011)Description / Buy at
Eleven Pipers Piping (2012)Description / Buy at
Ten Lords A-Leaping (2013)Description / Buy at
The Unpleasantness at the Battle of Thornford (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Death in Cold Type (2005)Description / Buy at
Paul Is Dead (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

In Search of Ancient Alberta (2000)Description / Buy at

Note: In Search of Ancient Alberta was written using his real name of Doug Whiteway, and was co-authored with Barbara Huck.

If You Like C.C. Benison Books, You’ll Love…

C.C. Benison Synopsis: In Cold Type is a standalone title by C.C. Benison. Newspaper reporter Leo Fabian doesn’t think of himself as an opportunist. But when the object of his desire, Stevie Lord, loses the object of her desire to murder, he finds a way to find his way into a woman’s heart. Who would want to kill Michael Rossiter anyway? Scion of an old Winnipeg newspaper family, he may have been rich, but it’s not like he had many apparent enemies. But as Leo delves deeper into the circumstances surrounding Michael’s death, he learns some surprising things about his friend that quite possibly led to his demise. Michael’s brutal fate mires Leo in a case that comes to embroil his fellow reporters at the Winnipeg Citizen, including troubled feature writer Liz Elliot, volatile lifestyle editor Guy Clark, and Michael’s narcissistic sister Merritt Parrish, whom Michael had tried to help get back on the straight and narrow. One of his oldest friends, Axel Werner, also becomes involved and, of course, Stevie, the woman Leo loves. The past intrudes in new and disturbing ways. Old scandals cast long shadows and long-ago deaths take on frightening implications. From old-money Crescentwood to a new-money mall, from the Citizen’s dilapidated newsroom to a peaceful prairie retreat, Leo follows a complex trail of clues, until he not only knows, but knows he has only moments to thwart another brutal murder.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of C.C. Benison Books

Leave a Reply