Chanel Miller is an American writer and artist based out of San Francisco and New York City. She is the author of the memoir, Know My Name, which was the winner of the 2019 National Book Critics Circle Award. The book appeared on many more national book of the year lists.

Miller was born in Palo Alto, California to a Chinese mother and an American father. Her mother emigrated to America to become a writer herself while her father worked as a therapist. Miller would attend the University of California, Santa Barbara’s College of Creative Studies where she earned her degree in literature.

Get notified when Chanel Miller releases a new book at

Publication Order of Memoirs

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Magnolia Wu Unfolds It All (2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Chanel Miller Books, You’ll Love…

Know My Witness by Chanel Miller is the story of a survivor. The world once knew Chanel as Emily Doe, a woman who was sexually assaulted by Brock Turner on Stanford’s campus. The case lead to Turner being sentenced to just six months in county jail for the crime. Afterwards, Miller stunned the world when she released her victim impact statement about the incident to Buzzfeed and that story went viral. The letter is said to have inspired changes in California law and even lead to the recall of judges who were assigned to the case. Her words in that article inspired many to come forward with their own experiences. Now, Chanel has released a full book of the story of her trauma, transcendence, and the power of words. Miller details her own strugled with isolation and shame during the aftermath and the way that victims are treated in cases like this. She also sheds a light on a culture biased to protect perpetrators and indicts a criminal justice system that is designed to fail victims. While finally showing how she was able to move past the suffering and onto a beautiful life.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Chanel Miller Books

Leave a Reply