Charles Finch
Charles Finch is an American author of historical mystery novels. Most of his novels thus far have featured series protagonist Charles Lenox, a gentleman sleuth. Finch attended both Phillips Academy and Yale University, majoring in English and History. In addition to that, he also received his Master’s degree in Renaissance English Literature from Oxford University. Charles lives in Oxford, England.

Charles Finch made his debut as a published novelist in A Beautiful Blue Death, which was published in 2007. The novel was named one of the Best Books of 2007 in Library Journal. Below is a list of Charles Finch’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Charles Finch releases a new book at

Publication Order of Charles Lenox Mysteries Books

A Beautiful Blue Death (2007)Description / Buy at
The September Society (2008)Description / Buy at
The Fleet Street Murders (2009)Description / Buy at
A Stranger in Mayfair (2010)Description / Buy at
A Burial at Sea (2011)Description / Buy at
An East End Murder (2011)Description / Buy at
A Death in the Small Hours (2012)Description / Buy at
An Old Betrayal (2013)Description / Buy at
The Laws of Murder (2014)Description / Buy at
Home by Nightfall (2015)Description / Buy at
The Inheritance (2016)Description / Buy at
Gone Before Christmas (2017)Description / Buy at
The Woman in the Water (2018)Description / Buy at
The Vanishing Man (2019)Description / Buy at
The Last Passenger (2020)Description / Buy at
An Extravagant Death (2021)Description / Buy at
The Hidden City (2025)Description / Buy at

Chronological Order of Charles Lenox Mysteries Books

The Woman in the Water(2018)Description / Buy at
The Vanishing Man(2019)Description / Buy at
The Last Passenger(2020)Description / Buy at
A Beautiful Blue Death(2007)Description / Buy at
The September Society(2008)Description / Buy at
The Fleet Street Murders(2009)Description / Buy at
A Stranger in Mayfair(2010)Description / Buy at
A Burial at Sea(2011)Description / Buy at
An East End Murder(2011)Description / Buy at
A Death in the Small Hours(2012)Description / Buy at
An Old Betrayal(2013)Description / Buy at
The Laws of Murder(2014)Description / Buy at
Home by Nightfall(2015)Description / Buy at
The Inheritance(2016)Description / Buy at
Gone Before Christmas(2017)Description / Buy at
An Extravagant Death(2021)Description / Buy at
The Hidden City(2025)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Last Enchantments (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

What Just Happened: Notes on a Long Year (2021)Description / Buy at

If You Like Charles Finch Books, You’ll Love…

Charles Finch Synopsis: The Last Enchantments by Charles Finch is his first modern novel. William Baker has graduated from Yale and is now headed into work in politics. However, the campaign doesn’t go as well as he had hoped and he decides to leave New York. In Oxford, he befriends his roommate Tom, an Indian economist named Anil who loves gangster rap, a German historian named Anneliese who is into photography and reality TV wannabe Timmo. However, the person he meets that makes the biggest impression on him is Sophie, who causes him to question everything he thought he knew about himself.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Charles Finch Books

Leave a Reply