Charles Knief an American author of crime fiction novels. He writes the John Caine series. Charles is a former airborne soldier, pilot, and engineer. He has traveled widely and lived in Hawaii for many years. Charles and his wife currently live in Irvine, California.

Charles Knief made his debut as novelist with the novel Diamond Head in 1996. The novel won the SMP/PWA contest for Best First Private Eye novel. Below is a list of Charles Knief’s books in order of when they were orignally released:

Get notified when Charles Knief releases a new book at

Publication Order of John Caine Books

If You Like Charles Knief Books, You’ll Love…

Charles Knief Synopsis: Diamond Head is the first John Caine novel by Charles Knief. When an admiral asks retired naval officer John Caine to find the killer of the admiral’s daughter, Caine finds that the girl played a part in Hawaii’s snuff film industry and seeks to save the admiral from scandal while finding his daughter’s killer.

Sand Dollars by Charles Knief is the second John Caine novel. Still not over losing his girlfriend and his treasured boat, retired U.S. Naval officer and private investigator John Caine returns to action when a wealthy San Diego woman hires him to investigate the death of her software mogul husband. From Hawaii to California to Mexico, Caine sets out to find what happened to Paul Peters – and the millions embezzled from his firm. With the comely widow barely an arm’s length away, Caine dives into a hotbed of Mexican justice, predatory sex, bullets and border politics to follow the money and find the truth.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Charles Knief Books

Leave a Reply