Charles McCarry
Charles McCarry wasan American author of spy thriller novels. He passed away on February 26th, 2019. Charles knew a thing or two about spies, as he worked for the CIA undercover between 1958-67. As far as his writing career, aside from being a novelist, he worked for National Geographic as editor-at-large. He wasbest known for his Paul Christopher series, and has also written novels featuring other members of the Christopher family. His novel The Better Angels was loosely adapted to the film Wrong is Right starring Sean Connery. McCarry is married, has four adult sons and lives in Western Massachusetts.

Charles McCarry became a published author in 1972 with Citizen Nader, a biography of future presidential candidate Ralph Nader. His first novel would be published the next year, which was The Miernik Dossier. Below is a list of Charles McCarry’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Paul Christopher Books

The Miernik Dossier (1973)Description / Buy at
The Tears of Autumn (1974)Description / Buy at
The Secret Lovers (1977)Description / Buy at
The Better Angels (1979)Description / Buy at
The Last Supper (1983)Description / Buy at
The Bride of the Wilderness (1988)Description / Buy at
Second Sight (1991)Description / Buy at
Shelley's Heart (1995)Description / Buy at
Old Boys (2004)Description / Buy at
Christopher's Ghosts (2007)Description / Buy at
Note: In the chronological order, The Last Supper partly takes place 2nd but also after The Tears of Autumn.

Chronological Order of Paul Christopher Books

The Bride of the Wilderness(1988)Description / Buy at
The Last Supper(1983)Description / Buy at
Christopher's Ghosts(2007)Description / Buy at
The Miernik Dossier(1973)Description / Buy at
The Secret Lovers(1977)Description / Buy at
The Tears of Autumn(1974)Description / Buy at
The Better Angels(1979)Description / Buy at
Shelley's Heart(1995)Description / Buy at
Second Sight(1991)Description / Buy at
Old Boys(2004)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Hand of Carlos (1992)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Citizen Nader (1972)Description / Buy at
The Great Southwest (1980)Description / Buy at
Paths of Resistance (With: Isabel Allende,Gore Vidal) (1989)Description / Buy at
Inner Circles; How America Changed the World (1992)Description / Buy at
From the Field (1997)Description / Buy at

Notes: Paths of Resistance was co-authored by Isabel Allende, Marge Piercy, Robert Stone and Gore Vidal. Inner Circles: How America Changed the World was co-authored with Alexander M. Haig, Jr.

If You Like Charles McCarry Books, You’ll Love…

Charles McCarry Synopses: Shelley’s Heart is a standalone novel by Charles McCarry. The novel is about the first presidential election of the century between two political rivals who are also lifelong friends. The winner steals the election via computer fraud, so the loser presents proof on the eve of inauguration and demands he step aside. The winner refuses, but in doing so may destroy him, his party and perhaps even the Constitution.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Charles McCarry Books

One Response to “Order of Charles McCarry Books”

  1. Leisureguy: 7 years ago

    Very good list of books in order of publication. However, in terms of the series order, the list is wrong: The Secret Lovers should be read BEFORE The Tears of Autumn (though it was published a year later). That sequence preserves the chronology of the story, which IMO overrides the chronology of publication.


Leave a Reply