Philip Kerr was a British author of thriller novels and children’s books under the pen name of P.B. Kerr.

Philip passed away on March 23rd, 2018.

Kerr got his Master’s in Law from the University of Birmingham before working as a copywriter and finally becoming a full-time author in 1989. His series include Bernie Gunther and the Children of the Lamp series. Kerr lives in Wimbledon with his wife and fellow novelist, Jane Thynne. They have three children.

Philip Kerr became a published author in 1989 with the novel March Violets, the beginning of his Bernie Gunther series. Below is a list of Philip Kerr’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Bernie Gunther Books

March Violets (1989)Description / Buy at
The Pale Criminal (1990)Description / Buy at
A German Requiem (1991)Description / Buy at
The One from the Other (2006)Description / Buy at
A Quiet Flame (2008)Description / Buy at
Field Gray (2010)Description / Buy at
If The Dead Rise Not (2010)Description / Buy at
Prague Fatale (2011)Description / Buy at
A Man Without Breath (2013)Description / Buy at
The Lady from Zagreb (2015)Description / Buy at
The Other Side of Silence (2016)Description / Buy at
Prussian Blue (2017)Description / Buy at
Greeks Bearing Gifts (2018)Description / Buy at
Metropolis (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Children Of The Lamp Books

(as P.B. Kerr)

The Akhenaten Adventure (2004)Description / Buy at
The Blue Djinn of Babylon (2005)Description / Buy at
The Cobra King of Kathmandu (2006)Description / Buy at
The Day of the Djinn Warriors (2007)Description / Buy at
The Eye of the Forest (2008)Description / Buy at
The Five Fakirs of Faizabad (2010)Description / Buy at
The Grave Robbers of Genghis Khan (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Scott Manson Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Philosophical Investigation (1992)Description / Buy at
Dead Meat (1993)Description / Buy at
Gridiron / The Grid (1995)Description / Buy at
Esau (1996)Description / Buy at
A Five-Year Plan (1998)Description / Buy at
The Second Angel (1999)Description / Buy at
The Shot (1999)Description / Buy at
Dark Matter (2002)Description / Buy at
Hitler's Peace (2005)Description / Buy at
Prayer (2013)Description / Buy at
The Winter Horses (2014)Description / Buy at
Research (2014)Description / Buy at
The Most Frightening Story Ever Told (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

(as P.B. Kerr)

One Small Step (As: P.B. Kerr) (2008)Description / Buy at
The Pocket Handkerchief (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of P.B. Kerr Short Stories/Novellas

(as P.B. Kerr)

One Small Step (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Penguin Book of Lies(1984)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Children of the Lamp series and One Small Step were written under the pen name P.B. Kerr.

If You Like Philip Kerr Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Philip Kerr Books

3 Responses to “Order of Philip Kerr Books”

  1. James Groff: 2 years ago

    I believe the stories are pretty much in order if you follow the publication sequence. They begin before WWII and end when Gunther returns to Germany from South America.


  2. Anita Hille: 4 years ago

    Wow! Just read about Philip Kerr’s death! He just had another book published in 2019! Metropolis which I just purchased. I wanted to ask why he wrote and published stories with Bernie Gunther that went all over the second world war dates. He never seemed to follow any consistent dates, like having one story in 1941 and the next in say 1943. Does anyone know about his ideas behind this?


  3. Ingo Lembcke: 5 years ago

    Philip Kerr is dead, sorry to say. Google:
    Died: March 23, 2018, London, United Kingdom
    More than a year ago.


Leave a Reply