Charles Portis is an American author of such novels as Norwood and True Grit. Both of those novels were adapted to film; Norwood in 1970, starring Glen Campbell and True Grit in 1969 starring John Wayne and then again in 2010. He has been described as “one of the most inventively comic writers of western fiction.”

Charles Portis became a published author in 1966 with his debut novel Norwood. His last novel (thus far) is Gringos, published in 1991. Below is a list of Charles Portis’ books in order of when they were first published:

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Escape Velocity (2012)Description / Buy at

If You Like Charles Portis Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Charles Portis Books

Leave a Reply