Chris Offutt is an American author and screenwriter. He is the author of Country Dark, The Good Brother, and The Killing Hills.

Offutt was born in Kentucky as the son of an author. He grew up in a former mining community in the Appalachian Mountain foothills of eastern Kentucky. Chris would attended Morehead State University where he graduated with a degree in theater and a minor in English. In addition to his work as an author, Offutt has also worked as a screenwriter. His credits include episodes of the HBO show, True Blood and the Showtime original series, Weeds.

Get notified when Chris Offutt releases a new book at

Publication Order of Mick Hardin Books

The Killing Hills (2021)Description / Buy at
Shifty’s Boys (2022)Description / Buy at
Code of the Hills (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Good Brother (1997)Description / Buy at
Country Dark (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Collections

Kentucky Straight (1992)Description / Buy at
Out of the Woods (1999)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Same River Twice (1993)Description / Buy at
No Heroes (2002)Description / Buy at
My Father, the Pornographer (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Best American Short Stories 1994(1994)Description / Buy at
Granta 54: The Best of Young American Novelists(1996)Description / Buy at
Body(2000)Description / Buy at
The Secret Society of Demolition Writers(2005)Description / Buy at
River Teeth(2013)Description / Buy at
Stray Dogs(2014)Description / Buy at
Walk Till the Dogs Get Mean:Meditations on the Forbidden from Contemporary Appalachia(2015)Description / Buy at
Mississippi Noir(2016)Description / Buy at
Unbroken Circle: Stories of Cultural Diversity in the South(2017)Description / Buy at
Tales of Two Americas(2017)Description / Buy at
Gather at the River(2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Chris Offutt Books, You’ll Love…

Country Dark is one of Offutt’s most popular books. The story sees Tucker, a veteran, returning from war and going to work for a bootlegger. He doesn’t have much, but he finds a wife and starts a family, and they are all happy. Then one day his family is threatened and Tucker is pushed to violence. This decision will change everything for the family in this story of people living off the land and by their wits in backwoods Kentucky.

Offutt returns to the Appalachian mountains in Killing Hills. Mick Hardin is a combat veteran and Army CID agent on leave back in Kentucky. His wife is pregnant and he’s here to be with her, but the two aren’t getting along. While his sister is now the sheriff and is investigating her first murder. The local politicians want someone else to take the case for some reason which leads to Mick helping out his sister. He’ll dig into the dangerous rivalries lurking beneath the surface of his fiercely private hometown while dodig9oing calls from his commanding officers. Another great country noir from Offutt as he digs into the betrayal within and between the clans that populate the hollers.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Chris Offutt Books

Leave a Reply