Sookie Stackhouse is a series of mystery novels by American author Charlaine Harris. It is also known as the Southern Vampire Mysteries and has also been retronymed as the True Blood series. The popular series was adapted into the hit HBO television series True Blood by Alan Ball (Six Feet Under).

The title character is a telepath who works at the local restaurant called Merlotte’s in the fictional town of Bon Temps, LA. She meets a vampire by the name of Bill Compton, but just as soon as she falls in love with him, a series of murders start occurring around her. The series began with Dead Until Dark in 2001 with a new installment being published every year. Below is a list of Charlaine Harris’ Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood books in order of when they were originally published (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when Charlaine Harris releases a new book at

Publication Order of Sookie Stackhouse Books

Dead Until Dark(2001)Description / Buy at
Living Dead in Dallas(2002)Description / Buy at
Club Dead(2003)Description / Buy at
Dead to the World(2004)Description / Buy at
Dead as a Doornail(2005)Description / Buy at
Definitely Dead(2006)Description / Buy at
All Together Dead(2007)Description / Buy at
From Dead to Worse(2008)Description / Buy at
Dead and Gone(2009)Description / Buy at
A Touch of Dead(2009)Description / Buy at
Dead in the Family(2010)Description / Buy at
True Blood Collection(2010)Description / Buy at
Dead Reckoning(2011)Description / Buy at
The First Sookie Collection(2011)Description / Buy at
Deadlocked(2012)Description / Buy at
Dancers in the Dark(2012)Description / Buy at
Dead Ever After(2013)Description / Buy at
After Dead(2013)Description / Buy at
Games Creatures Play(2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Sookie Stackhouse Collections

The Complete Sookie Stackhouse Stories(2017)Description / Buy at

If You Like Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood Books, You’ll Love…

Southern Vampire Mysteries Synopsis: Living Dead in Dallas picks up where Dead Until Dark left off. Sookie is employed by the vampires of Dallas to help find their sheriff Godric using her telepathic gifts. In doing so, she has to meet with an anti-vampire religious group. Meanwhile, in Sookie’s absence, a maenad has wreaked havoc all over Bon Temps. This book was later adapted into the second season of True Blood, with several differences.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Sookie Stackhouse Books

One Response to “Order of Sookie Stackhouse Books”

  1. guest: 9 years ago

    You forgot to include all the short stories – in other words what is confusing about the order of the Sookie Stackhouse Books …


Leave a Reply