American novelist Charlaine Harris is best known for her Sookie Stackhouse novels, which are also known as The Southern Vampire Mysteries. The series has been adapted to the extremely popular HBO television series True Blood. The supernatural-themed vampire series is just one of Harris’ mystery novel series.

In addition to the True Blood novels, the New York Times Bestselling author has also written such series as the Aurora Teagarden series, the Lily Bard series and the Harper Connelly series. She has a couple of standalone novels to her credit as well. A typical locale to Harris’ novels is the South, which shouldn’t be surprising as she was born in Mississippi and now lives in Arkansas.

Get notified when Charlaine Harris releases a new book at

Publication Order of Aurora Teagarden Books

Real Murders (1990)Description / Buy at
A Bone to Pick (1992)Description / Buy at
Three Bedrooms, One Corpse (1994)Description / Buy at
The Julius House (1995)Description / Buy at
Dead Over Heels (1996)Description / Buy at
A Fool and His Honey (1999)Description / Buy at
Last Scene Alive (2002)Description / Buy at
Poppy Done to Death (2003)Description / Buy at
All the Little Liars (2016)Description / Buy at
Sleep Like a Baby (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lily Bard Books

Shakespeare's Landlord (1996)Description / Buy at
Shakespeare's Champion (1997)Description / Buy at
Shakespeare's Christmas (1998)Description / Buy at
Shakespeare's Trollop (2000)Description / Buy at
Shakespeare's Counselor (2001)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Sookie Stackhouse Books

Dead Until Dark (2001)Description / Buy at
Living Dead in Dallas (2002)Description / Buy at
Club Dead (2003)Description / Buy at
Dead to the World (2004)Description / Buy at
Dead as a Doornail (2005)Description / Buy at
Definitely Dead (2006)Description / Buy at
All Together Dead (2007)Description / Buy at
From Dead to Worse (2008)Description / Buy at
Dead and Gone (2009)Description / Buy at
A Touch of Dead (2009)Description / Buy at
Dead in the Family (2010)Description / Buy at
True Blood Collection (2010)Description / Buy at
Dead Reckoning (2011)Description / Buy at
The First Sookie Collection (2011)Description / Buy at
Deadlocked (2012)Description / Buy at
Dancers in the Dark (2012)Description / Buy at
Dead Ever After (2013)Description / Buy at
After Dead (2013)Description / Buy at
Games Creatures Play (With: Toni L.P. Kelner) (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Sookie Stackhouse Collections

The Complete Sookie Stackhouse Stories (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Sookie Stackhouse Companion Books

The Sookie Stackhouse Companion (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Harper Connelly Books

Publication Order of Harper Connelly/Grave Sight Graphic Novels

Publication Order of Midnight, Texas Books

Publication Order of The Cemetery Girl Trilogy Books

(with Christopher Golden)

Publication Order of Gunnie Rose Books

An Easy Death (2018)Description / Buy at
A Longer Fall (2020)Description / Buy at
The Russian Cage (2021)Description / Buy at
The Serpent in Heaven (2022)Description / Buy at
All the Dead Shall Weep (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Sweet and Deadly (1981)Description / Buy at
A Secret Rage (1984)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Layla Steps Up (2017)Description / Buy at
The One That Got Away: A Short Story (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Small Kingdoms and Other Stories (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Harper Connelly Graphic Novels Books

(with William Harms)

Grave Sight (With: William Harms) (2011)Description / Buy at
Charlaine Harris' Grave Surprise (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The MatchUp Collection Books

Honor & ... (By: C.J. Box,Sandra Brown) (2017)Description / Buy at
Deserves to Be Dead (By: John Sandford,Lisa Jackson) (2017)Description / Buy at
Getaway (By: Lisa Scottoline,Nelson DeMille) (2017)Description / Buy at
Midnight Flame (By: Christopher Rice,Lara Adrian) (2018)Description / Buy at
Short Story (By: Karin Slaughter,Michael Koryta) (2019)Description / Buy at
Past Prologue (By: Diana Gabaldon,Steve Berry) (2019)Description / Buy at
Faking a Murderer (By: Lee Child,Kathy Reichs) (2019)Description / Buy at
Dig Here (With: Andrew Gross) (2019)Description / Buy at
Taking the Veil (By: J.A. Jance,Eric Van Lustbader) (2019)Description / Buy at
Rambo on Their Minds (By: Gayle Lynds,David Morrell) (2019)Description / Buy at
Footloose (By: Val McDermid,Peter James) (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Murder, They Wrote(1997)Description / Buy at
Seven Seasons of Buffy: Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers Discuss Their Favorite Television Show(2003)Description / Buy at
Night's Edge(2004)Description / Buy at
Powers of Detection(2004)Description / Buy at
Bite(2004)Description / Buy at
My Big Fat Supernatural Wedding(2006)Description / Buy at
Many Bloody Returns(2007)Description / Buy at
Unusual Suspects(2008)Description / Buy at
Wolfsbane and Mistletoe(2008)Description / Buy at
Blood Lite(2008)Description / Buy at
Strange Brew(2009)Description / Buy at
Must Love Hellhounds(2009)Description / Buy at
Delta Blues(2009)Description / Buy at
Crimes by Moonlight(2010)Description / Buy at
Death's Excellent Vacation(2010)Description / Buy at
Werewolves and Shape Shifters: Encounters with the Beasts Within(2010)Description / Buy at
Home Improvement: Undead Edition(2011)Description / Buy at
An Apple for the Creature(2012)Description / Buy at
Weird Detectives(2013)Description / Buy at
Inherit the Dead(2013)Description / Buy at
Not Everyone's Cup of Tea(2013)Description / Buy at
The Best American Mystery Stories 2014(2014)Description / Buy at
Dark Duets(2014)Description / Buy at
Dead But Not Forgotten(2014)Description / Buy at
Blood Sisters: Vampire Stories By Women(2015)Description / Buy at
Seize the Night(2015)Description / Buy at
Urban Allies(2016)Description / Buy at
Unfettered II: New Tales By Masters of Fantasy(2016)Description / Buy at
MatchUp(2017)Description / Buy at
Indigo(2017)Description / Buy at
In the Footsteps of Dracula(2017)Description / Buy at
Don't Go Alone(2017)Description / Buy at
Shattering Glass(2020)Description / Buy at
Bullets and Other Hurting Things: A Tribute to Bill Crider(2021)Description / Buy at
Heroic Hearts(2022)Description / Buy at
Promophobia: Taking the Mystery Out of Promoting Crime Fiction(2022)Description / Buy at

Notes: Inherit the Dead is a collaborative novel written with several other authors. The Cemetery Girl graphic novel series is co-authored by Christopher Golden. The anthology Dead But Not Forgotten was co-edited with Toni L.P. Kelner. Indigo also contains contributions by Jonathan Maberry, Kelley Armstrong, Christopher Golden, Tim Lebbon, Seanan McGuire, James A. Moore, Mark Morris, Cherie Priest and Kat Richardson.

Don’t Go Alone also contains the writing of Amber Benson, Christopher Golden, Tim Lebbon, Mike Mignola, James A. Moore and Thomas E. Sniegoski.

The anthologies Many Blood Returns, Wolfsbane and Mistletoe, Death’s Excellent Vacation, Home Improvement, An Apple for the Creature and Games Creatures Play were edited with Toni L.P. Kelner. Charlaine Harris Presents Malice Domestic 12 was edited with Rita Owen, Verena Rose and Shawn Reilly Simmons.

If You Like Charlaine Harris Books, You’ll Love…

Charlaine Harris Book Synopsis: In Dead After Dark, Sookie Stackhouse is working as a cocktail waitress in the small town of Bon Temps, Louisiana when the vampire of her dreams walks into her life. She quickly falls in love with him and her world is changed forever. Can vampires and humans co-exist?

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Charlaine Harris Books

Leave a Reply