Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter is a series of urban fantasy novels by American author Laurell K. Hamilton. In this universe, vampires, shapeshifters, werewolves and more run rampant. Blake is a necromancer who can control physical dead beings such as vampires and zombies, but not ghosts. There has also been a comic book adaptation of the series.

The Anita Blake series began in 1993 with Guilty Pleasures. There has pretty much been a new book added annually, putting the series at over 20 books. Below is the order of Laurell K. Hamilton’s Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter books in order of publication and chronology:

Get notified when Laurell K Hamilton releases a new book at

Publication Order of Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Books

Guilty Pleasures(1993)Description / Buy at
The Laughing Corpse(1994)Description / Buy at
Circus of the Damned(1995)Description / Buy at
The Lunatic Cafe(1996)Description / Buy at
Bloody Bones(1996)Description / Buy at
The Killing Dance(1997)Description / Buy at
Burnt Offerings(1998)Description / Buy at
Blue Moon(1998)Description / Buy at
Obsidian Butterfly(2000)Description / Buy at
Narcissus in Chains(2001)Description / Buy at
Cerulean Sins(2003)Description / Buy at
Incubus Dreams(2004)Description / Buy at
Micah(2006)Description / Buy at
Danse Macabre(2006)Description / Buy at
The Harlequin(2007)Description / Buy at
Blood Noir(2007)Description / Buy at
Skin Trade(2009)Description / Buy at
Flirt(2009)Description / Buy at
Bullet(2010)Description / Buy at
Hit List(2011)Description / Buy at
Beauty(2012)Description / Buy at
Kiss the Dead(2012)Description / Buy at
Affliction(2013)Description / Buy at
Dancing(2013)Description / Buy at
Jason(2014)Description / Buy at
Dead Ice(2015)Description / Buy at
Crimson Death(2016)Description / Buy at
Wounded(2016)Description / Buy at
Serpentine(2018)Description / Buy at
Sucker Punch(2020)Description / Buy at
Rafael(2021)Description / Buy at
Smolder(2023)Description / Buy at
Slay(2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Graphic Novels

The First Death(2007)Description / Buy at
Guilty Pleasures(2009)Description / Buy at
The Laughing Corpse(2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter: Circus of the Damned Graphic Novels

Publication Order of Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter: The Laughing Corpse Graphic Novels

Publication Order of Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Collections

If You Like Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter Books, You’ll Love…

Notes: The First Death is co-authored with Jonathon Green. The graphic novels Guilty Pleasures and The Laughing Corpse are co-written by Jessica Ruffner and Stacie Ritchie. Circus of the Damned: The Charmer was co-authored with Jessica Booth.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter Books

2 Responses to “Order of Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter Books”

  1. Janice Benford: 3 years ago

    Is there a subscription price to join or get the newsletter ?


    • Graeme: 3 years ago

      Nope it’s free 🙂


Leave a Reply