Dexter Morgan is a fictional serial killer and the creation of American novelist Jeff Lindsay. Most will recognize the Dexter character (as portrayed by Michael C. Hall) from the television series on Showtime, but before Dexter made it to the television screen, he was a character in Jeff Lindsay’s Darkly Dreaming Dexter novel.

Although the TV series has continued with original stories beyond the first novel in Jeff Lindsay’s series (which was adapted into the first season of the show), the show continues to borrow aspects of the novels. The series concluded after 8 novels with Dexter is Dead. Below is the order in which the Dexter series of novels has been published:

Get notified when Jeff Lindsay releases a new book at

Publication Order of Dexter Books

Darkly Dreaming Dexter(2004)Description / Buy at
Dearly Devoted Dexter(2005)Description / Buy at
Dexter in the Dark(2006)Description / Buy at
Dexter By Design(2008)Description / Buy at
Dexter Is Delicious(2010)Description / Buy at
Double Dexter(2011)Description / Buy at
Dexter's Final Cut(2012)Description / Buy at
Dexter Is Dead(2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Dexter Down Under Books

Dexter Down Under(2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Dexter : A Graphic Novel Books

If You Like Dexter Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Dexter Books

One Response to “Order of Dexter Books”

  1. JudyEgen: 7 years ago

    The series is good on TV but the books are even better. Much darker and still you like Dexter. Worth reading.


Leave a Reply