Colin Bateman
Colin Bateman is an Irish author of crime fiction, thriller and dark comedy novels. Whether it’s his Dan Starkey, Martin Murphy or Mystery Man series for adults or his Eddie and The Gang with No Name, Titanic 2020 or SOS Adventures for children, Bateman writes for both young and old. Bateman began his career as a journalist when he was only 16, starting out as a cub reporter, then graduating to a regular columnist and finally deputy editor. After Divorcing Jack was published in 1995, he has been focusing on his career as a novelist and screenwriter. His screenplays include Divorcing Jack, Crossmaheart, Wild About Harry, Turbulent Priests (unproduced) and Watermelon.

Colin Bateman became a published novelist in 1995 with the novel Divorcing Jack, for which he also adapted into a screenplay and was released as a film in 1998. Below is a list of Colin Bateman’s books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when Colin Bateman releases a new book at

Publication Order of Dan Starkey Books

Divorcing Jack (1995)Description / Buy at
Of Wee Sweetie Mice & Men (1996)Description / Buy at
The Turbulent Priests (1999)Description / Buy at
Shooting Sean (2001)Description / Buy at
The Horse with My Name (2002)Description / Buy at
Driving Big Davie (2004)Description / Buy at
Belfast Confidential (2005)Description / Buy at
Nine Inches (2013)Description / Buy at
Fire and Brimstone (2013)Description / Buy at
The Dead Pass (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Martin Murphy Books

Murphy's Law (2002)Description / Buy at
Murphy's Revenge (2005)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Eddie and the Gang With No Name Books

Reservoir Pups (2003)Description / Buy at
Bring Me the Head of Oliver Plunkett (2004)Description / Buy at
The Seagulls Have Landed (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Titanic 2020 Books

Publication Order of Mystery Man Books

Mystery Man (2009)Description / Buy at
The Day of the Jack Russell (2009)Description / Buy at
Dr. Yes (2010)Description / Buy at
The Prisoner of Brenda (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of SOS Adventures Books

Publication Order of Papercuts Books

The Dead and the Quick (2015)Description / Buy at
The Return of the Native (2016)Description / Buy at
Mr Turner's Prize (2016)Description / Buy at
Hong Kong Phooey (2016)Description / Buy at
The Good, The Bad and the Quite Ugly (2016)Description / Buy at
The Eagle Has Crash Landed (2016)Description / Buy at
The Next to Last of the Mohicans (2016)Description / Buy at
Dog Day Mid-Afternoon (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Cycle of Violence (1995)Description / Buy at
Best In The Business (1997)Description / Buy at
Empire State (1997)Description / Buy at
Maid of the Mist (1999)Description / Buy at
Wild About Harry (2000)Description / Buy at
Mohammed Maguire (2001)Description / Buy at
Chapter and Verse (2003)Description / Buy at
I Predict a Riot (2007)Description / Buy at
Orpheus Rising (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime 8(2011)Description / Buy at

Notes: His novels are often published mononymously as “Bateman.” Reservoir Pups was published in the UK and Ireland as Running with the Reservoir Pups. Cycle of Violence was also published as Crossmaheart.

If You Like Colin Bateman Books, You’ll Love…

Colin Bateman Synopsis: Maid of the Mist is a standalone novel by Bateman. Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada is a tourist town, which isn’t something Inspector Frank Corrigan complains about. He saw enough bad things working as a cop in Northern Ireland. He’s much happier simply taking care of parking tickets or a local drunk. But what he’s not happy about is his wife leaving him, and taking their daughter. Then, a reincarnated Native American princess named Lelewala canoes over the Falls, but survives. Or that’s what she says, at least. Frank falls in love. He also must confront a big-time terrorist at a drug dealers’ gathering. And that’s just the beginning.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Colin Bateman Books

Leave a Reply