Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles is a British author of romance, mystery and historical fiction novels. She writes the Morland Dynasty and Bill Slider series. She has also written under the pen names of Emma Woodhouse and Elizabeth Bennett. Cynthia went to school at Burlington School, a girls’ charity school that has been up and running since 1699. She went on to attend the University of Edinburgh and University College London, studying English, historiy and philosophy. Cynthia lives in London with her husband and enjoys writing, music, horses, wine, architecture and the countryside.

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles became a published author in 1972 with the novel The Waiting Game, which won her a Young Writers’ Award. Below is a list of Cynthia Harrod-Eagles’ books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Cynthia Harrod-Eagles releases a new book at

Publication Order of Ashmore Castle Books

The Secrets of Ashmore Castle (2021)Description / Buy at
The Affairs of Ashmore Castle (2023)Description / Buy at
The Mistress of Ashmore Castle (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Morland Dynasty Books

The Founding (1980)Description / Buy at
The Dark Rose (1981)Description / Buy at
The Princeling / The Distant Wood (1981)Description / Buy at
The Oak Apple (1982)Description / Buy at
The Black Pearl (1982)Description / Buy at
The Long Shadow (1983)Description / Buy at
The Chevalier (1984)Description / Buy at
The Maiden (1985)Description / Buy at
The Flood-Tide (1986)Description / Buy at
The Tangled Thread (1987)Description / Buy at
The Emperor (1988)Description / Buy at
The Victory (1989)Description / Buy at
The Regency (1990)Description / Buy at
The Campaigners (1991)Description / Buy at
The Reckoning (1993)Description / Buy at
The Devil's Horse (1994)Description / Buy at
The Poison Tree (1995)Description / Buy at
The Abyss (1996)Description / Buy at
The Hidden Shore (1996)Description / Buy at
The Winter Journey (1997)Description / Buy at
The Outcast (1999)Description / Buy at
The Mirage (2000)Description / Buy at
The Cause (2001)Description / Buy at
The Homecoming (2002)Description / Buy at
The Question (2002)Description / Buy at
The Dream Kingdom (2003)Description / Buy at
The Restless Sea (2004)Description / Buy at
The White Road (2006)Description / Buy at
The Burning Roses (2006)Description / Buy at
The Measure of Days (2007)Description / Buy at
The Foreign Field (2009)Description / Buy at
The Fallen Kings (2009)Description / Buy at
The Dancing Years (2010)Description / Buy at
The Winding Road (2011)Description / Buy at
The Phoenix (2013)Description / Buy at
The Gathering Storm (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Kirov Trilogy Books

Publication Order of Bill Slider Books

Publication Order of War At Home Books

Goodbye Piccadilly (2014)Description / Buy at
Keep the Home Fires Burning (2015)Description / Buy at
The Land of My Dreams (2017)Description / Buy at
The Long, Long Trail (2017)Description / Buy at
Till the Boys Come Home (2018)Description / Buy at
Pack Up Your Troubles (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Waiting Game (1974)Description / Buy at
Shadows on the Mountain (1974)Description / Buy at
Romany Magic (As:Emma Woodhouse) (1976)Description / Buy at
A Rainbow Summer (As:Emma Woodhouse) (1976)Description / Buy at
A Well-Painted Passion (As:Emma Woodhouse) (1976)Description / Buy at
Love's Perilous Passage (As:Emma Woodhouse) (1978)Description / Buy at
On Wings of Love (As:Emma Woodhouse) (1978)Description / Buy at
Never Love a Stranger / The Treacherous Heart (As:Emma Woodhouse) (1978)Description / Buy at
Title Role (As:Elizabeth Bennett) (1980)Description / Buy at
Hollow Night (1980)Description / Buy at
Deadfall (1982)Description / Buy at
The Crystal Crown (1983)Description / Buy at
The Unfinished (As:Elizabeth Bennett) (1983)Description / Buy at
Even Chance (As:Elizabeth Bennett) (1984)Description / Buy at
Last Run (As:Elizabeth Bennett) (1984)Description / Buy at
The Orange-Tree Plot (1989)Description / Buy at
The Enchanted Isle (1993)Description / Buy at
I, Victoria: The Secret Diary of the Empress Queen (1994)Description / Buy at
Play for Love (1995)Description / Buy at
A Cornish Affair (1996)Description / Buy at
Nobody's Fool (1997)Description / Buy at
Dangerous Love (1997)Description / Buy at
Divided Love (1998)Description / Buy at
Keeping Secrets (1998)Description / Buy at
The Longest Dance (2000)Description / Buy at
The Horsemasters (2001)Description / Buy at
Julia (2002)Description / Buy at
The Colonel's Daughter (2005)Description / Buy at
Harte's Desire (2008)Description / Buy at
Kelly-Ann's Mermaid (As: Emma Woodhouse) (2009)Description / Buy at
The Dreamlands (As: Emma Woodhouse) (2009)Description / Buy at
Country Plot (2012)Description / Buy at
Kate's Progress (2013)Description / Buy at
The Hostage Heart (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of The Fallen Ones Books

(as Emma Woodhouse)

Notes: The novels Romany Magic, A Rainbow Summer, A Well-Painted Passion, Love’s Perilous Passage, On Wings of Love and Never Love a Stranger were written under the pen name of Emma Woodhouse. Title Role, The Unfinished, Even Chance and Last Run were written under the pseudonym of Elizabeth Bennett. The Princeling was also published as The Distant Wood. Necrochip was also published as Death to Go. Dead End was also titled Grave Music.

If You Like Cynthia Harrod-Eagles Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Cynthia Harrod-Eagles Books

Leave a Reply