Damion Hunter is the pen name of American author Amanda Cockrell, who writes historical fiction under this pen name. She earned a Master’s degree in English and creative writing from Hollins College, and has been the director of the Hollins graduate program in children’s lit. She lives in Virginia with her husband and pets.

Damion Hunter debuted under this pen name in 1981 with The Centurions. Below is a list of Damion Hunter’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Damion Hunter releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of The Borderlands Books

Shadow of the Eagle (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Empire's Edge (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Birds of Prey (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of The Centurions Books

The Centurions (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Barbarian Princess (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Emperor's Games (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Border Wolves (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Legions of the Mist (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Wall at the Edge of the World (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Damion Hunter Books, You’ll Love…

Damion Hunter Synopses: The Legions of the Mist is a standalone novel by Damion Hunter. The Ninth Hispana was once the pride of the Roman Army, celebrated for numerous successful campaigns. However, by the time Centurion Justinius Corvus joined, it had clearly fallen on hard times.

Smarting from a recent demotion and transfer to Britain, a land he despises, Justinius nevertheless works hard to instill in his men the same pride he feels as a Roman soldier.

As their bond strengthens, both among themselves and with the occupied land, their combat skills are pushed to the limit against the forces of Vortrix, High King of the Britons. As battle lines are drawn, the fate of an army, and of a nation, hangs in the balance.

The Wall at the Edge of the World by Damion Hunter is a standalone novel. Army Medic Postumus Justinius Corvus finds himself far from his native Britannia, stationed in the Syrian provinces at the far corner of the Empire. However, an unexpected promotion to Senior Surgeon in the Sixth Legion brings him back home.

The new Emperor faces significant challenges in Britannia, where trouble is brewing north of the Wall. The tribes are stirring, and a new conflict is on the horizon, testing old and new loyalties alike.

Postumus will find himself at the heart of this maelstrom, with his hands soaked in blood as he navigates the turbulent times ahead.

Shadow of the Eagle is the first book in the Borderlands series by Damion Hunter. Faustus Valerianus, the son of a Roman father and a British mother who was sold among the spoils after Claudius’s invasion, faces a turning point after both parents die within a month of each other. He sells the family farm and enlists in the Roman army, joining the legendary general Agricola’s campaign to conquer the entirety of the British Isles, culminating in a devastating battle amidst Caledonia’s dark mountains.

But Faustus will have to contend with more than ferocious British warriors and the harsh elements. The bonds of blood weigh heavily on his soul, pulling him between his mother’s people and his father’s Roman legacy. As he marches into battle, Faustus must carry with him the call of his mother’s heritage and the restless shadow of his father.

The Centurions by Damion Hunter is the first book in the Centurions series. Correus and Flavius are half-brothers, sons of a brilliant general. Correus, the son of a slave, is a born warrior destined to excel. Flavius, a nobleman by birth, must struggle relentlessly to succeed.

Both join the Centuriate, a position Flavius has always known he would inherit and one that Correus has long coveted. Together, they face the brutal reality of war.

Fighting German barbarians proves dangerous, not only to their bodies but to their souls as well…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Damion Hunter Books

Leave a Reply