Simon Scarrow
Simon Scarrow is a British author of historical fiction. He got his Master’s degree from the University of East Anglia, then went onto a career as a teacher. He is best known for his Cato & Macro series, which takes place during the Roman Empire. He also writes the Revolution series and the Gladiator YA series. Simon now writes full time. He is the brother of Alex Scarrow.

Simon Scarrow became a published novelist with the novel Under the Eagle in 2000, launching his Cato & Macro series. Below is a list of Simon Scarrow’s books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when Simon Scarrow releases a new book at

Publication Order of Berlin Wartime Thriller Books

Publication Order of Eagle Books

Under the Eagle (2000)Description / Buy at
The Eagle's Conquest (2001)Description / Buy at
When the Eagle Hunts (2001)Description / Buy at
The Eagle and the Wolves (2003)Description / Buy at
The Eagle's Prey (2004)Description / Buy at
The Eagle's Prophecy (2005)Description / Buy at
The Zealot / The Eagle in the Sand (2006)Description / Buy at
Centurion (2007)Description / Buy at
The Gladiator (2009)Description / Buy at
The Legion (2009)Description / Buy at
Praetorian (2011)Description / Buy at
The Blood Crows (2013)Description / Buy at
Brothers in Blood (2014)Description / Buy at
Britannia (2015)Description / Buy at
Invictus (2016)Description / Buy at
Day of the Caesars (2017)Description / Buy at
The Blood of Rome (2018)Description / Buy at
Traitors of Rome (2019)Description / Buy at
The Emperor's Exile (2021)Description / Buy at
The Honour of Rome (2021)Description / Buy at
Death to the Emperor (2022)Description / Buy at
Rebellion (2023)Description / Buy at
Revenge of Rome (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Gladiator Books

Fight for Freedom (2011)Description / Buy at
Street Fighter (2012)Description / Buy at
Son of Spartacus (2013)Description / Buy at
Vengeance (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Invader Books

(with T.J. Andrews)

Publication Order of Invader Short Stories Books

(with T.J. Andrews)

Publication Order of Pirata Books

(with T.J. Andrews)

The Black Flag (2019)Description / Buy at
The Gates of Stone (2019)Description / Buy at
Hunters of the Sea (2019)Description / Buy at
Sea of Blood (2019)Description / Buy at
The Pirate Chief (2019)Description / Buy at
Pirata (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Revolution Quartet Books

Young Bloods (2006)Description / Buy at
The Generals (2007)Description / Buy at
Fire and Sword (2009)Description / Buy at
The Fields of Death (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Roman Arena Books

(with T.J. Andrews)

Publication Order of Warrior Books

(with T.J. Andrews)

The King in Rome (2022)Description / Buy at
The Druids' Lair (2022)Description / Buy at
The War Prince (2022)Description / Buy at
Brothers of the Sword (2023)Description / Buy at
Lord of War (2023)Description / Buy at
Warrior (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Sword and Scimitar (2012)Description / Buy at
Hearts of Stone (2015)Description / Buy at
Playing With Death (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Notes: The Invader novella series is co-authored by T.J. Andrews. Playing with Death was written with Lee Francis.

If You Like Simon Scarrow Books, You’ll Love…

Simon Scarrow Synopses: Barbarian is a 93-page novella by Simon Scarrow, beginning his Roman Arena series of novellas. The story is set in 41 AD and introduces the character Marcus Valerius Pavo and features Optio Macro. Pavo is the son of a general who was murdered. He has a month to prepare for his battle with Britomaris, for which he will train with Macro. Macro doesn’t like Pavo’s chances, but he isn’t considering Pavo’s motivation.

Challenger is the second Roman Arena novella by Simon Scarrow. Pavo’s next test will put Macro’s loyalties to the test. Pavo finds himself pitted against one of the greatest warriors to ever live: Decimus Cominius Denter. Denter is not what he once was, but is still no match for most men. The story is 83 pages in length.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Simon Scarrow Books

2 Responses to “Order of Simon Scarrow Books”

  1. Christina La Ponder: 1 year ago

    I’m looking for the Series with Rose Blake as an FBI agent but all I can find is ‘Playing with Death’. Is this the only book written in the series.


    • Graeme: 1 year ago

      Yes that is the only one at this time


Leave a Reply