Cato and Macro by Simon Scarrow
The Cato & Macro series is a historical fiction series by British novelist Simon Scarrow. Lucius Cornelius Macro is a Roman Army veteran with 15 years of experience and has just been promoted to Centurion. Quintus Licinius Cato is a teenager who grew up a slave and has joined the Eagles. The series is also known as the Eagle series and the Roman Legion series.

Simon Scarrow began his Cato and Macro series in 2000 with his debut novel, Under the Eagle. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Simon Ssarrow’s Cato and Macro books in order of when they were originally released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Simon Scarrow releases a new book at

Publication Order of Eagle Books

Under the Eagle(2000)Description / Buy at
The Eagle's Conquest(2001)Description / Buy at
When the Eagle Hunts(2001)Description / Buy at
The Eagle and the Wolves(2003)Description / Buy at
The Eagle's Prey(2004)Description / Buy at
The Eagle's Prophecy(2005)Description / Buy at
The Zealot / The Eagle in the Sand(2006)Description / Buy at
Centurion(2007)Description / Buy at
The Gladiator(2009)Description / Buy at
The Legion(2009)Description / Buy at
Praetorian(2011)Description / Buy at
The Blood Crows(2013)Description / Buy at
Brothers in Blood(2014)Description / Buy at
Britannia(2015)Description / Buy at
Invictus(2016)Description / Buy at
Day of the Caesars(2017)Description / Buy at
The Blood of Rome(2018)Description / Buy at
Traitors of Rome(2019)Description / Buy at
The Emperor's Exile(2021)Description / Buy at
The Honour of Rome(2021)Description / Buy at
Death to the Emperor(2022)Description / Buy at
Rebellion(2023)Description / Buy at
Revenge of Rome(2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Cato & Macro/Eagle Books, You’ll Love…

Cato & Macro Synopses: Under the Eagle is Simon Scarrow’s debut novel and the first in his Eagles series. It is the year 42 AD and Cato has just been recruited to the Second Legion and has reported to Germany. Due to his connections, Cato is ranked second-in-command only to Macro, but he will also have to prove himself more than other recruits.

The Eagle’s Conquest is book 2 in the Cato & Macro series. Macro and Cato have arrived in Britain in the invasion of 43 AD, and Macro is aware that his army is vastly outnumbered. However, the Romans will soon realize they must deal with a force more threatening than the Britons and they must keep Emperor Claudius’ victory from turning into a disaster.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Cato & Macro Books

Leave a Reply