David Goodis (1917-1967) was an American author of noir fiction novels. He grew up in a Philadelphia household where his dreams of writing were encouraged. After a short stint at the University of Indiana, David returned home to earn a degree in journalism in 1937.

David Goodis made his debut as a published author in 1939 with the novel Retreat from Oblivion. Below is a list of David Goodis’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Retreat from Oblivion (1939)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dark Passage (1946)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Behold This Woman (1947)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Nightfall/Missing Believed Murdered / The Dark Chase / Convicted (1947)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Of Missing Persons (1950)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Cassidy's Girl (1951)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Of Tender Sin (1952)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Street of the Lost (1952)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Burglar (1953)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Moon in the Gutter (1953)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Black Friday (1954)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Blonde on the Street Corner (1954)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Street of No Return (1954)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Wounded and the Slain (1955)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Down There/Shoot the Piano Player (1956)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Fire in the Flesh (1957)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Night Squad (1961)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Somebody's Done For (1967)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Pulp Frictions: Hardboiled Stories(1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Notes: Nightfall was also published as Missing Believed Murdered, as The Dark Chase, and as Convicted. Down There was also titled Shoot the Piano Player.

If You Like David Goodis Books, You’ll Love…

David Goodis Synopsis: Dark Passage is a standalone title by David Goodis. Given life in San Quentin for the alleged murder of his wife, Vince Parry escapes in a desperate attempt to prove his innocence. A fugitive from justice, in the depths of despair, he finds refuge with a beautiful woman as he struggles to unravel a nightmarish plot.

In Cassidy’s Girl by David Goodis, they say that a man needs a woman to go to hell with. Cassidy had two. One was Mildred, the wife who kept him chained with ties of fear and jealousy and paralyzing sexual need. The other was Doris, a frail angel with a 100-proof halo and a bottle instead of a harp. With those two, Cassidy found that the ride to hell could be twice as fast.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of David Goodis Books

Leave a Reply