Ross Macdonald was the pen name of American-Canadian author Kenneth Millar (1915-1983). During his career, Macdonald wrote crime fiction/mystery novels, largely featuring P.I. Lew Archer that were set in Southern California. Along with Dashiell Hammett and Raymond Chandler, he is considered to be one of the masters of hardboiled mysteries. His plots were complex, usually involving Archer digging up family secrets. His first two Lew Archer novels were adapted into films starring Paul Newman as “Lew Harper.”

Ross Macdonald made his debut as a fiction author in 1944 with The Dark Tunnel (aka I Die Slowly). His final novel was The Blue Hammer, published in 1976. Below is a list of Ross Macdonald’s books in order of when they were originally published (and in chronological order):

Publication Order of Lew Archer Books

The Moving Target / Harper (1949)Description / Buy at
The Drowning Pool (1950)Description / Buy at
The Way Some People Die (1951)Description / Buy at
The Ivory Grin / Marked for Murder (1952)Description / Buy at
Find a Victim (1954)Description / Buy at
The Barbarous Coast (1956)Description / Buy at
The Doomsters (1958)Description / Buy at
The Galton Case (1959)Description / Buy at
The Wycherly Woman (1961)Description / Buy at
The Zebra-Striped Hearse (1962)Description / Buy at
The Chill (1963)Description / Buy at
The Far Side of the Dollar (1965)Description / Buy at
Black Money (1966)Description / Buy at
The Instant Enemy (1968)Description / Buy at
The Goodbye Look (1969)Description / Buy at
The Underground Man (1971)Description / Buy at
Sleeping Beauty (1973)Description / Buy at
The Blue Hammer (1976)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lew Archer Collections

The Name is Archer (1955)Description / Buy at
Lew Archer, Private Investigator (1977)Description / Buy at
The Archer Files (2007)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Chet Gordon Books

(as Kenneth Millar)

The Dark Tunnel / I Die Slowly (1944)Description / Buy at
Trouble Follows Me (1946)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Blue City (As: Kenneth Millar) (1947)Description / Buy at
The Three Roads (As: Kenneth Millar) (1948)Description / Buy at
Meet Me at the Morgue / Experience with Evil (1954)Description / Buy at
The Ferguson Affair (1967)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Guilty Ones (1952)Description / Buy at
The Imaginary Blonde (1953)Description / Buy at
Midnight Blue (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Strangers in Town (With: Tom Nolan) (2001)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Dear Dead Days: 1972 Mystery Writers of America Anthology(1972)Description / Buy at
Mammoth Book of Short Crime Novels(1986)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Private Eye Stories(1988)Description / Buy at
City Sleuths and Tough Guys(1989)Description / Buy at
Pulp Frictions: Hardboiled Stories(1996)Description / Buy at
The Oxford Book of American Detective Stories(1996)Description / Buy at
Writing Los Angeles(2002)Description / Buy at
Los Angeles Noir 2(2010)Description / Buy at
Books to Die For(2012)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Chet Gordon series, Blue City and The Three Roads were originally published under his real name of Kenneth Millar. The Dark Tunnel was also published as I Die Slowly. Trouble Follows Me was also published as Night Train. The Moving Target was also published as Harper. The Ivory Grin was also published as Marked for Murder. Meet Me at the Morgue was also titled Experience With Evil.

If You Like Ross Macdonald Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Ross Macdonald Books

Leave a Reply