David Ignatius
David Ignatius is an American author of spy thriller/suspense novels, in addition to his work as an associate editor and columnist for the Washington Post. He was educated at Harvard College and Kings College, Cambridge University. He started out as an editor at the Washington Monthly before starting at the Wall Street Journal, where he worked for 10 years as a reporter. Since 1986, he has been working at the Washington Post. During this career, he has gained ample knowledge of foreign affairs and intelligence operations, for which he uses in his spy novels. His novel Body of Lies was adapted to film by Ridley Scott, starring Leonardo DiCaprio and Russell Crowe.

David Ignatius made his debut as a novelist in 1987 with the novel Agents of Innocence. The CIA once described the novel as “a novel but not fiction.” Below is a list of David Ignatius’ books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when David Ignatius releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Agents of Innocence (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Siro (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Bank of Fear (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Firing Offense (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Sun King (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Body of Lies / House of Lies (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Increment (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Bloodmoney (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Director (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Quantum Spy (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Paladin (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Phantom Orbit (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Blind Spot: America's Response to Radicalism in the Middle East(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Note: Body of Lies was also titled House of Lies.

If You Like David Ignatius Books, You’ll Love…

David Ignatius Synopsis: In Body of Lies by David Ignatius, Roger Ferris is a CIA soldier who is leaving Iraq with a shattered leg and a mission to breakdown the network of the terrorist known as “Suleiman.” Basing his plan on a British plan from WWII, he uses a body of lies, literally the corpse of an imaginary CIA officer who appears to have accomplished the impossible by getting an enemy agent to switch sides. But when the scheme comes apart, Ferris is sent into a hurricane. Now his only hope is Jordan’s head of intelligence. But can he be trusted? The novel was adapted into film by Ridley Scott and was released in 2008.

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Authors » Order of David Ignatius Books

2 Responses to “Order of David Ignatius Books”

  1. Robert Goodwin: 3 years ago

    When will the next David Ignatius book be published? Will this be in 2022?


    • Graeme: 3 years ago

      Hi Robert – I haven’t seen him mention anything about an upcoming book, unfortunately.


Leave a Reply