Derek Landy is an Irish author of YA and children’s mystery and sci-fi/fantasy novels. He writes the Skulduggery Pleasant series. He has won the Irish Book of the Decade and Red House Children’s Book Award. He has also written two screenplays that have been made into film. In his spare time, Derek enjoys his hobbies in excess – playing video games, reading comics, and watching movies.

Derek Landy made his debut as a published novelist in 2007 with the novel Skulduggery Pleasant. Below is a list of Derek Landy’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Derek Landy releases a new book at

Publication Order of Skulduggery Pleasant Books

Scepter of the Ancients (2007)Description / Buy at
Playing with Fire (2008)Description / Buy at
The Faceless Ones (2008)Description / Buy at
Dark Days (2010)Description / Buy at
Mortal Coil (2010)Description / Buy at
The Lost Art of World Domination (2011)Description / Buy at
Gold, Babies and the Brothers Muldoon (2011)Description / Buy at
Death Bringer (2011)Description / Buy at
The End of the World (2012)Description / Buy at
Kingdom of the Wicked (2012)Description / Buy at
Tanith Low in the Maleficent Seven (2013)Description / Buy at
Last Stand of Dead Men (2013)Description / Buy at
Armageddon Outta Here (2014)Description / Buy at
The Dying of the Light (2014)Description / Buy at
Resurrection (2017)Description / Buy at
Midnight (2018)Description / Buy at
Bedlam (2019)Description / Buy at
Seasons of War (2020)Description / Buy at
Apocalypse Kings (2021)Description / Buy at
Dead or Alive (2021)Description / Buy at
The Skulduggery Pleasant Grimoire (2021)Description / Buy at
Until the End (2022)Description / Buy at
Hell Breaks Loose (2023)Description / Buy at
A Mind Full of Murder (2024)Description / Buy at
The Skulduggery Pleasant Grimoire is a prequel to the series.

Publication Order of Demon Road Books

Publication Order of Black Order Graphic Novel Books

Black Order: The Warmasters of Thanos (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Hero of Drumree (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Skulduggery Pleasant Graphic Novel Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

Haunted(2011)Description / Buy at
Doctor Who: 11 Doctors, 11 Stories(2013)Description / Buy at
Beyond the Stars: Twelve Tales of Adventure, Magic and Wonder(2014)Description / Buy at
Doctor Who: 12 Doctors, 12 Stories(2014)Description / Buy at
Doctor Who: Thirteen Doctors, 13 Stories(2019)Description / Buy at

Notes: Skulduggery Pleasant was later re-titled Scepter of the Ancients. The collections Haunted and 12 Doctors 12 Stories also contain stories by other authors.

If You Like Derek Landy Books, You’ll Love…

Derek Landy Synopsis: The Hero of Drumree is a 50-page short story by Derek Landy. When Fleece, one of the foot soldiers of the valiant Hibernian Army, whose cowardice is a constant source of guilt, is sent to battle the demons of the Fomorian Empire, he becomes the accidental Hero of Drumree. But Fleece’s weapons have always been words, not swords, and his newfound status leaves him with an unexpected feeling, presenting him the most difficult decision of his life – revealing to him the true meaning of bravery.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Derek Landy Books

Leave a Reply