John Flanagan is an Australian author of fantasy novels, most notably his Ranger’s Apprentice series. Before he became an author, Flanagan worked in advertising and created the TV series Hey Dad!. He began writing fiction for his son in order to encourage him to start reading.

John Flanagan began as a novelist in 2004 with The Ruins of Gorlan. Below is a list of John Flanagan’s books in order of when they were originally released (and in chronological order):

Get notified when John Flanagan releases a new book at

Publication Order of Brotherband Chronicles Books

The Outcasts / Brotherband (2011)Description / Buy at
The Invaders (2012)Description / Buy at
The Hunters (2012)Description / Buy at
Slaves of Socorro (2014)Description / Buy at
Scorpion Mountain (2014)Description / Buy at
The Ghostfaces (2016)Description / Buy at
The Caldera (2017)Description / Buy at
Return of the Temujai (2019)Description / Buy at
The Stern Chase (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Ranger's Apprentice Books

The Ruins of Gorlan (2004)Description / Buy at
The Burning Bridge (2005)Description / Buy at
The Icebound Land (2005)Description / Buy at
The Battle for Skandia / Oakleaf Bearers (2006)Description / Buy at
The Sorcerer of the North / The Sorcerer in the North (2006)Description / Buy at
The Siege of Macindaw (2006)Description / Buy at
Erak's Ransom (2007)Description / Buy at
The Kings of Clonmel (2008)Description / Buy at
Halt's Peril (2009)Description / Buy at
The Lost Stories (2011)Description / Buy at
The Emperor of Nihon-Ja (2011)Description / Buy at
Death of a Hero (2012)Description / Buy at
Death of a Hero is a prequel to the series.

Publication Order of Ranger’s Apprentice: The Early Years Books

The Tournament at Gorlan (2015)Description / Buy at
The Battle of Hackham Heath (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Ranger's Apprentice: The Royal Ranger Books

The Royal Ranger (2013)Description / Buy at
The Red Fox Clan (2018)Description / Buy at
Duel at Araluen (2018)Description / Buy at
The Missing Prince (2020)Description / Buy at
Escape from Falaise (2021)Description / Buy at
Arazan Wolves (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Jesse Parker Mystery Books

Notes: The Battle for Skandia is also known as Oakleaf Bearers. The Sorcerer of the North is also known as The Sorcerer in the North.

If You Like John Flanagan Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of John Flanagan Books

One Response to “Order of John Flanagan Books”

  1. Mo: 5 years ago

    This site is so helpful, thank you! I picked up one of the Brotherband books and was immediately hooked. Wish there were more books. Looks like I’m going to have to go back now & try the Apprentice series. It seems he’s continuing more with that world.


Leave a Reply