Ranger’s Apprentice is a series of fantasy novels by Australian novelist John Flanagan. The series follows an apprentice Ranger named Will fighting to keep Araluen safe. The series takes place in the same world as Flanagan’s Brotherband Chronicles series.

John Flanagan began the Ranger’s Apprentice series in 2004 with the novel The Ruins of Gorlan. Below is a list of Ranger’s Apprentice books in order of when they were originally published as well as in their chronological order:

Get notified when John Flanagan releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Ranger's Apprentice Books

The Ruins of Gorlan(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Burning Bridge(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Icebound Land(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Battle for Skandia / Oakleaf Bearers(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Sorcerer of the North / The Sorcerer in the North(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Siege of Macindaw(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Erak's Ransom(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Kings of Clonmel(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Halt's Peril(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Lost Stories(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Emperor of Nihon-Ja(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death of a Hero(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death of a Hero is a prequel to the series.

Publication Order of Ranger’s Apprentice: The Early Years Books

The Tournament at Gorlan(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Battle of Hackham Heath(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Ranger's Apprentice: The Royal Ranger Books

The Royal Ranger(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Red Fox Clan(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Duel at Araluen(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Missing Prince(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Escape from Falaise(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Arazan Wolves(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Notes: The Battle for Skandia is also known as Oakleaf Bearers. The Sorcerer of the North is also known as The Sorcerer in the North.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Ranger’s Apprentice Books

One Response to “Order of Ranger’s Apprentice Books”

  1. chunk: 10 years ago

    just got the new brotherband movie and it turns out the chronological order is different than what we thought

    the kings of clonmel and halts peril actually come after the emperor of Nihon-Ja and some of the lost stories (specifically the marriage of cassandra and horace)


Leave a Reply