Deryn Lake is a British author best known for her work as the creator of the popular John Rawlings Mystery series. Deryn Lake is actually a pen name used by the historical novel author Dinah Lampitt.

Lampitt was born in a small English town called Ilford. From a young age, she found herself drawn to novels as well as the school subjects of History and English. She would volunteer to read in class and started penning her own stories at a very young age. After college she worked in journalism and started a family, but the writing bug will catch her later in life and she has since written many novels.

Get notified when Deryn Lake releases a new book at

Publication Order of John Rawlings Books

Death in the Dark Walk (1994)Description / Buy at
Death at the Beggar's Opera (1995)Description / Buy at
Death at the Devil's Tavern (1996)Description / Buy at
Death on the Romney Marsh (1998)Description / Buy at
Death in the Peerless Pool (1999)Description / Buy at
Death at Apothecaries' Hall (2000)Description / Buy at
Death in the West Wind (2001)Description / Buy at
Death at St. James's Palace (2002)Description / Buy at
Death in the Valley of Shadows (2003)Description / Buy at
Death in the Setting Sun (2004)Description / Buy at
Death and the Cornish Fiddler (2006)Description / Buy at
Death in Hellfire (2007)Description / Buy at
Death and the Black Pyramid (2009)Description / Buy at
Death at the Wedding Feast (2011)Description / Buy at
Death on the Rocks (2014)Description / Buy at
Death at the Boston Tea Party (2016)Description / Buy at
Death on the River Thames (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Reverend Nick Lawrence Mystery Books

The Mills of God (2010)Description / Buy at
Dead on Cue (2012)Description / Buy at
The Moonlit Door (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The King's Women (2015)Description / Buy at
As Shadows Haunting (2015)Description / Buy at
Pour The Dark Wine (2015)Description / Buy at
To Sleep No More (2015)Description / Buy at
Banishment (2015)Description / Buy at
The Prince's Women (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Anklets (2017)Description / Buy at
The Moonlit Baths (2017)Description / Buy at
The Wardrobe (2017)Description / Buy at
The Mermaid's Kiss (2017)Description / Buy at
The Staircase (2017)Description / Buy at
The Gemini Syndrome (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Lovers Lost in Time (2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like Deryn Lake Books, You’ll Love…

The first book in the series is called Death in the Dark Walk. The first book introduces us to John Rawlings who is celebrating finishing his indentures at Vaux Hall Pleasure Gardens when he manages to trip on the body of a young girl. He heads into the magistrate’s office where he is considered a suspect, but after explaining his situation and using his outstanding powers of recollection he’s released. The magistrate is so impressed by Rawlings’ memory that he asks him to investigate the case himself. There is a lot to this girl’s life and the case will challenge Rawlings’ extraordinary mind.

Death at the Beggar’s Opera is the second book in the series. In this book, Rawlings goes to a performance of ‘The Beggar’s Opera’ in Drury Lane when the leading actor falls to his death on stage. The actor had a reputation as a philanderer and this leads to his death being a cold blooded murder. Rawlings will investigate alongside blind magistrate John Fielding, in an intriguing case with a ton of suspects.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Deryn Lake Books

Leave a Reply