Don Keith is the author of many books including the Hunter Killer series with George Wallace, the Ride series, and the Rolling Thunder Stock Car Racing with Kent Wright.

Keith was born in the South in 1947 and has lived his entire live down there. Don attended the University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa where he earned his degree in broadcast and film communication with a minor in English and literature. He worked as a broadcast journalist and won awards from the Associated Press and United Press International for news writing and reporting. He would later work as an on-air personality which lead to him winning the Billboard Magazine “Radio Personality of the Year” award. His book Final Bearing became a film starring Gerard Butler and Gary Oldman.

Get notified when Don Keith releases a new book at

Publication Order of Hunter Killer Books

(with George Wallace)

Publication Order of Ride Books

The Soldier's Ride (2009)Description / Buy at
A Christmas Ride: Miracle of the Lights (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Rolling Thunder Stock Car Racing Books

(with Kent Wright)

White Lightning (1999)Description / Buy at
Road to Daytona (1999)Description / Buy at
Race To Glory (1999)Description / Buy at
On To Talladega (2000)Description / Buy at
Young Guns (2000)Description / Buy at
First to the Flag (2000)Description / Buy at
Inside Pass (2000)Description / Buy at
On The Throttle (2001)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Forever Season (1995)Description / Buy at
Wizard of the Wind (1997)Description / Buy at
Firing Point (With: George Wallace) (2011)Description / Buy at
The Spin (2012)Description / Buy at
On the Road to Kingdom Come (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Collections

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Gallant Lady: A Biography of the USS Archerfish (2004)Description / Buy at
In the Course of Duty: The Heroic Mission of the USS Batfish (2005)Description / Buy at
Bear: The Legendary Life of Coach Paul "Bear" Bryant (2006)Description / Buy at
Final Patrol: True Stories of World War II Submarines (2006)Description / Buy at
War Beneath the Waves: A True Story of Courage and Leadership Aboard a World War II Submarine (2010)Description / Buy at
Undersea Warrior: The World War II Story of "Mush" Morton and the USS Wahoo (2011)Description / Buy at
Riding the Shortwaves: Exploring the Magic of Amateur Radio (2012)Description / Buy at
Untold Millions: How You Can Capture and Save Eyewitness History (2012)Description / Buy at
Mattie C.'s Boy: The Shelley Stewart Story (2013)Description / Buy at
The Ship That Wouldn't Die: The Saga of the USS Neosho: A World War II Story of Courage and Survival at Sea (2015)Description / Buy at
The Amateur Radio Dictionary: The Most Complete Glossary of Ham Radio Terms Ever Compiled (2015)Description / Buy at
Get on the Air...Now!: A Practical, Understandable Guide to Getting the Most from Amateur Radio (2015)Description / Buy at
The Indestructible Man: The True Story of World War II Hero "Captain Dixie" (2017)Description / Buy at
The Indestructible Man: The Incredible True Story of the Legendary Sailor the Japanese Couldn't Kill (With: David Rocco) (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of American War Heroes Books

Pacific Alamo (By: John F. Wukovits) (2004)Description / Buy at
As Good As Dead (By: Stephen L. Moore) (2020)Description / Buy at
Chesty Puller (By: John F. Wukovits) (2021)Description / Buy at
Only the Brave (2021)Description / Buy at
Battle Stations (By: Stephen L. Moore) (2021)Description / Buy at
Torpedo Run (2022)Description / Buy at
One Square Mile of Hell (By: John F. Wukovits) (2022)Description / Buy at
Chuck Yeager: (2022)Description / Buy at

If You Like Don Keith Books, You’ll Love…

Final Bearing is the first book in the Hunter Killer series. The book sees Commander Jonathan Ward and his crew on the old attack sub Spadefish as they are sent on one final mission. A Navy SEAL team has been sent to South American on orders to destroy the secret laboratories of an infamous drug cartel. The Spadefish has been sent to simply provide assistance, but the drug lord they are after has a few tricks up his sleeve including a mini-submarine of his own and he will do whatever it takes to protect the empire.

Keith also authored the military history book, Undersea Warrior. It tells the true story of Dudley “Mush” Morton, a submariner without peer. During World War II, he would relentlessly attack the Japanese and went through torpedoes in record time. He ranked up many achievements, including being the first American captain to take out an entire enemy convoy. Keith tells the story of the man who did things his way.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Don Keith Books

Leave a Reply