Don Winslow
Don Winslow is an American author of crime fiction and historical fiction as well as being a screenwriter. He writes the Neal Carey Mysteries. Winslow grew up the son of a librarian and a U.S. Navy officer who told him stories, influencing his future profession. He has worked as a movie theater chain manager and private investigator before deciding on a career as an author. His novels The Death and Life of Bobby Z and Savages have both been adapted to film – the latter’s screenplay was written by Winslow himself and was directed by Oliver Stone.

Don Winslow became a published novelist in 1991 with the novel A Cool Breeze on the Underground. Below is a list of Don Winslow’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Don Winslow releases a new book at

Publication Order of Boone Daniels Books

The Dawn Patrol (2008)Description / Buy at
The Gentlemen's Hour (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Danny Ryan Books

Publication Order of Neal Carey Books

A Cool Breeze on the Underground (1991)Description / Buy at
The Trail to Buddha's Mirror (1992)Description / Buy at
Way Down on the High Lonely (1993)Description / Buy at
A Long Walk Up the Water Slide (1994)Description / Buy at
While Drowning in the Desert (1996)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Savages Books

Chronological Order of Savages Books

Publication Order of Power Of The Dog Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Isle of Joy (1996)Description / Buy at
The Death and Life of Bobby Z (1997)Description / Buy at
California Fire and Life (1999)Description / Buy at
The Winter of Frankie Machine (2006)Description / Buy at
Satori (2011)Description / Buy at
Missing: New York (2014)Description / Buy at
The Force (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Looking for a Hero (2004)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Anthologies

Note: Looking for a Hero: Staff Sergeant Joe Ronnie Hooper and the Vietnam War was co-authored by Peter Maslowski. Isle of Joy was also published as A Winter Spy using the pen name MacDonald Lloyd.

If You Like Don Winslow Books, You’ll Love…

Don Winslow Synopsis: In The Death and Life of Bobby Z by Don Winslow, Tim Kearney didn’t have a choice but to murder a Hell’s Angel and now he’s looking at spending life in prison with buddies of the man he killed. But now he has an alternative; given an offer by the Feds to impersonate a drug lord named Bobby Z and work out a deal with a Mexican crimelord to trade himself for an agent who has been kidnapped. If the deal works, he’s a free man. If it doesn’t, he may be a dead one. The novel was adapted to film in 2007, starring Paul Walker and Laurence Fishburne.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Don Winslow Books

Leave a Reply