Donis Casey
Donis Casey is an American author of historical mystery novels. Her first series character is woman sleuth Alafair Tucker. Donis is a third-generation Oklahoman who grew up around her extended family in farms and small towns. She went on to graduate from the University of Tulsa with an English degree and earned her Master’s degree in Library Science from Oklahoma University. After teaching briefly, she began working as an academic librarian at the University of Oklahoma and Arizona State University. Doris lives in Tempe, Arizona with her husband.

Donis Casey made her debut as a published novelist in 2005 with the novel The Old Buzzard Had It Coming. Below is a list of Donis Casey’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Donis Casey releases a new book at

Publication Order of Alafair Tucker Books

The Old Buzzard Had It Coming (2005)Description / Buy at
Hornswoggled (2006)Description / Buy at
The Drop Edge of Yonder (2007)Description / Buy at
The Sky Took Him (2008)Description / Buy at
Crying Blood (2011)Description / Buy at
Wrong Hill to Die On (2012)Description / Buy at
Hell with the Lid Blown Off (2014)Description / Buy at
All Men Fear Me (2015)Description / Buy at
The Return of the Raven Mocker (2017)Description / Buy at
Forty Dead Men (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Adventures of Bianca Dangereuse Books

The Wrong Girl (2019)Description / Buy at
Valentino Will Die / The Death of Valentino (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Bound by Mystery(2017)Description / Buy at

If You Like Donis Casey Books, You’ll Love…

Donis Casey Synopsis: Hornswoggled by Donis Casey is the second book in the Alafair Tucker series. It’s the spring of 1913, and love is in the air for Alice Tucker. Alice’s new man, Walter Kelley, is handsome, popular, and rich. Everyone in Boynton, Oklahoma, likes him. That is, everyone but Alice’s mother, Alafair. She sees that Walter has a weakness for the ladies – and vice-versa. Even more concerning, Walter’s late wife Louise had been stabbed in the heart and her body disposed of in Cane Creek only a few months earlier. The murderer has not been caught. The sheriff has cleared Walter of the deed – he has an alibi. But Alafair is not so sure that he didn’t have something to do with it. Something literally doesn’t sit right. Could it be Louise’s tormented spirit signaling clues from the other side, or is Alafair scenting a more direct link to the crime? Even if he had nothing to do with his wife’s death, Alafair judges Walter to have been a bad husband and, with the help of her feisty mother-in-law, Sally McBride, Alafair sets out to prove to the headstrong Alice that Walter is not the man she thinks he is. You can bet that Alice has something to say back. As she searches for the truth behind the death of Louise Kelley, Alafair uncovers such a tangle of lies, misdirection, and deceit that she begins to think that the whole town has been downright hornswoggled!

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Donis Casey Books

Leave a Reply