Donna Morrissey is a Canadian author and screenwriter. She has received awards in Canada, the U.S., and the U.K. Her novel Sylvanus Now was shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize. Her fiction has been translated into several different languages. Born and raised in Newfoundland, she now resides in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

Donna Morrissey made her debut as a published author in 1999 with the novel Kit’s Law. Below is a list of Donna Morrissey’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Donna Morrissey releases a new book at

Publication Order of Sylvanus Now Books

Sylvanus Now (2004)Description / Buy at
What They Wanted (2006)Description / Buy at
The Fortunate Brother (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Kit's Law (1999)Description / Buy at
Downhill Chance (2002)Description / Buy at
Deception Of Livvy Higgs (2012)Description / Buy at
Rage the Night (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Children's Books

Cross Katie Kross (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Memoirs

If You Like Donna Morrissey Books, You’ll Love…

  • David Adams Richards
  • Richard B. Wright
  • Helen Humphreys

Donna Morrissey Synopsis: Downhill Chance is a standalone title by Donna Morrissey. Clair Gale is the unsinkable heart of the novel, a story of two families during wartime – the Osmonds and the Gales – joined by love, yet torn apart by fear and secrets. Morrissey blends melodrama, gritty realism and a flair for the comic in this unique novel. At its core is the revealing of secrets – and the redemption that truth ultimately brings to the people who inhabit these pages so memorably.

Cross Katie Kross is a children’s book by Donna Morrissey and daughter Bridgette Morrissey. Katie Kross is a curmudgeonly old woman who hates just about everything. Katie becomes so fed up with life on her farm that she decides to leave her home in search of Love Valley: a beautiful, idyllic place where she can be on her own, away from tedious chores, pestering neighbours, and pesky animals. But Katie’s journey leads her to learn that sometimes dreams come true in the most surprising ways.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Donna Morrissey Books

Leave a Reply