Dorothy Howell
Dorothy Howell is an American author who writes cozy mystery novels as well as historical romance novels (as Judith Stacy). She writes the Haley Randolph series. Dorothy wanted to be a writer after her eighth grade teacher began teaching creative writing. Dorothy was hooked immediately. But before she could make it to becoming a published author, she took a 20-year detour in having a family. Dorothy now lives in Southern California with her family, and is now a grandmother.

Dorothy Howell became a published author in 1988 with the novel Defiant Enchantress (which she wrote under the pen name of Kit Prate). Her next novel would not be for seven years, which was Anna’s Treasure (as by Dorothy Howell). She made her debut as Judith Stacy in 1997 with the novel Outlaw Love. Her debut as a mystery author came in 2008 with the novel Handbags and Homicide. Below is a list of Dorothy Howell’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Dorothy Howell releases a new book at

Publication Order of Return To Tyler Books

(as Judith Stacy)

The Nanny (As: Judith Stacy) (2001)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Colorado Confidential Books

Rocky Mountain Maverick (By: Gayle Wilson) (2003)Description / Buy at
Special Agent Nanny (By: Linda O. Johnston) (2003)Description / Buy at
Kiss and Tell (By: Amanda Stevens) (2003)Description / Buy at
Covert Cowboy (By: Harper Allen) (2003)Description / Buy at
A Warrior's Mission (By: Rita Herron) (2003)Description / Buy at
Cheyenne Wife (As: Judith Stacy) (2004)Description / Buy at
Rocky Mountain Marriage (By: Debra Lee Brown) (2004)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Haley Randolph Books

Handbags and Homicide (2008)Description / Buy at
Purses and Poison (2009)Description / Buy at
Shoulder Bags and Shootings (2010)Description / Buy at
Clutches and Curses (2011)Description / Buy at
Slay Bells and Satchels (2011)Description / Buy at
Tote Bags and Toe Tags (2012)Description / Buy at
Evening Bags and Executions (2013)Description / Buy at
Beach Bags and Burglaries (2014)Description / Buy at
Duffel Bags and Drownings (2014)Description / Buy at
Fanny Packs and Foul Play (2014)Description / Buy at
Swag Bags and Swindlers (2015)Description / Buy at
Backpacks and Betrayals (2016)Description / Buy at
Pocketbooks and Pistols (2016)Description / Buy at
Messenger Bags and Murder (2018)Description / Buy at
Man Bags and Malice (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Hollis Brannigan Mystery Books

Shop Til You Drop Dead (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Dana MacKenzie Books

Publication Order of Sewing Studio Mysteries Books

Seams Like Murder (2022)Description / Buy at
Hanging by a Thread (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Defiant Enchantress (1988)Description / Buy at
Anna's Treasure (1995)Description / Buy at
Tea Time (1995)Description / Buy at
Outlaw Love (As: Judith Stacy) (1997)Description / Buy at
The Marriage Mishap (As: Judith Stacy) (1997)Description / Buy at
The Heart of a Hero (As: Judith Stacy) (1999)Description / Buy at
The Dreammaker (As: Judith Stacy) (1999)Description / Buy at
Written In The Heart (As: Judith Stacy) (2000)Description / Buy at
The Blushing Bride (As: Judith Stacy) (2000)Description / Buy at
The Last Bride in Texas (As: Judith Stacy) (2000)Description / Buy at
The Widow's Little Secret (As: Judith Stacy) (2001)Description / Buy at
Married By Midnight (As: Judith Stacy) (2002)Description / Buy at
Maggie and the Law (As: Judith Stacy) (2004)Description / Buy at
The One Month Marriage (As: Judith Stacy) (2004)Description / Buy at
The Hired Husband (As: Judith Stacy) (2005)Description / Buy at
Jared's Runaway Woman (As: Judith Stacy) (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Christmas Wishes (As: Judith Stacy) (2016)Description / Buy at
Wild West Wager (As: Judith Stacy) (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

A Hero's Kiss(2003)Description / Buy at
Spring Brides(2005)Description / Buy at
Stay for Christmas(2006)Description / Buy at
Stetsons, Spring and Wedding Rings(2009)Description / Buy at
All a Cowboy Wants for Christmas(2012)Description / Buy at

Notes: Defiant Enchantress was written as Kit Prate. The novels The Nanny, Cheyenne Wife, every standalone novels (except for the first three) and all short story collections were written as Judith Stacy.

One Christmas Wish also contains stories by Carolyn Davidson and Theresa Michaels. A Hero’s Kiss also has stories by Mary Burton and Diana Palmer. Spring Brides also has stories by Pam Crooks and Cheryl Reavis. Stay for Christmas also includes stories by Victoria Bylin and Elizabeth Lane. Stetsons, Spring and Wedding Rings also includes stories by Jillian Hart and Stacey Kayne. Happily Ever After in the West also includes stories by Lynna Banning and Debra Cowan. All a Cowboy Wants for Christmas also has stories by Debra Cowan and Lauri Robinson.

If You Like Dorothy Howell Books, You’ll Love…

Dorothy Howell Synopsis: In the historical western romance Outlaw Love by Judith Stacy (aka Dorothy Howell), Kelsey Rodgers is already in enough trouble. The last thing she wants is a U.S. Marshal staying at her hotel. Even if he was sharp, sexy and dangerous, like Clay Chandler. Clay knew immediately that Kelsey’s trouble would rub off on him. She had secrets galore, and was well over the legal limit of sass. But if he could help it or not, she was going to sweep him off his feet as if he were a greenhorn!

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Dorothy Howell Books

Leave a Reply