E. Lynn Harris (1955-2009) was an American author who is best known for his novels featuring gay black men who are in the closet and are having difficulties with their sexualities. His writing contains emotive dialogue as well as vernacular and slang borrowed from pop culture. Harris went through a dark period in his life where he attempted suicide before he started writing, which is the sort of theme found in his novels.

E. Lynn Harris became a published author in 1991 with Invisible Life. He was unable to get a decent publishing deal for the book, so he self-published the book and sold copies from his trunk. Eventually, he would become a New York Times Bestseller ten times over. Below is a list of E. Lynn Harris’ books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Bentley L. Dean Books

In My Father's House (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Invisible Life Books

Publication Order of Yancey Harrington Braxton Books

Any Way the Wind Blows (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Not a Day Goes By (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Mama Dearest (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

And This Too Shall Pass (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
If This World Were Mine (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Love of My Own (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
I Say a Little Prayer (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Just Too Good to Be True (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Basketball Jones (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
No One in the World (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Got to be Real (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Mystic Spirituality of A.W. Tozer (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
What Becomes of the Brokenhearted (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Freedom in this Village Twenty-Five Years of Black Gay Men's Writing (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Go the Way Your Blood Beats(1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Not Guilty: Twelve Black Men Speak Out on Law, Justice, and Life(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Black Satin(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Coming of Age in a Hardscrabble World(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Notes: No One in the World was co-authored by R.M. Johnson. Got To Be Real contains contributions from Colin Channer, Eric Jerome Dickey and Marcus Major. Love is Stronger Than Pride also contains contributions from P. Llanor Alleyne, Celia Anderson, Bryan Gibson and Sonya Y. Jackson.

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Authors » Order of E. Lynn Harris Books

Leave a Reply