E.M. Forster, or Edward Morgan Forster, was an English writer and essayist. He is the author of many novels including Howards End and A Room with a View. His novels often touched on themes of class difference and hypocrisy. One of his biggest successes was A Passage to India.

Forster was highly decorated throughout his career. He was nominated for the Nobel Prize in Literature in 16 separate years. While he was also awarded the Benson Medal in 1937. Man of his books have been turned into films over the years, most famously Howards End, A Room with a View, and Where Angels Fear to Tread. Forster was born in 1879 and passed away in June 1970 at the age of 91.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Where Angels Fear to Tread (1905)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Longest Journey (1907)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Room with a View (1908)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Howards End (1910)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Story of the Siren (1920)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Passage to India (1924)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Maurice (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Arctic Summer (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Collections

The Eternal Moment and Other Stories (1928)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Abinger Harvest (1936)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Collected Short Stories (1947)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Machine Stops (1947)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Albergo Empedocle, and Other Writings (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Life to Come and Other Short Stories (1972)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Collected Tales of E. M. Forster (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The New Collected Short Stories (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Pharos and Pharillon (1923)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Aspects of the Novel (1927)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
What I Believe, and Other Essays (1939)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Nordic Twilight (1940)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Two Cheers For Democracy (1951)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Hill of Devi (1953)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Battersea Rise (1955)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Marianne Thornton (1956)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Goldsworthy Lowes Dickinson (1962)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Alexandria (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Selected Letters of E M Forster 1879-1920 V1 (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Selected Letters of E.M. Forster, Vol. 2 (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

50 Great Short Stories(1952)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Writers At Work: The Paris Review Interviews(1957)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
First Fiction: An Anthology of the First Published Stories by Famous Writers(1994)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Empire Tales(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Wesleyan Anthology of Science Fiction(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Horned God: Weird Tales of the Great God Pan(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like E.M. Forster Books, You’ll Love…

A Passage to India is the story of a young Muslim physician named Dr. Aziz who is working in the British Indian town of Chandrapore. He comes across an English woman one evening named Mrs. Moore in the courtyard of a local mosque. Her and her younger traveling companion are disappointed by the claustrophobic British colonial culture wish to see the “real” India. Dr. Aziz and Mr. Fielding offer to show them what they are looking for.

One of the most well-known Forster books is Howards End. The story revolves around three families in England at the beginning of the 20th century. The families are the Wilcoxes, a group of rich capitalists who made their fortune in the colonies; the Schlegel siblings, half-Germans with cultural pursuits that have more in common with the Bloomsbury Group; and the Basts, a poor couple from a lower-class background. The three families ended up becoming intertwined that puts each of the family on the brink of ruin as tempers fly and secret passions are ignited.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of E.M. Forster Books

Leave a Reply