Elena Ferrante
Elena Ferrante is the pseudonym of an Italian author of literary fiction. She writes the Neapolitan Novels series. Elena’s true identity is not known, as she believes that “books, once they are written, have no need of their authors.” She was named one of the 100 most influential people on the planet by Time in 2016.

Elena Ferrante published her first novel, entitled L’amore molesto in 1992. It was translated into English as Troubling Love in 2006. Her first novel to be published in English was The Days of Abandonment in 20056. Below is a list of Elena Ferrante’s books in order of when they were originally released in English:

Get notified when Elena Ferrante releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Neapolitan Books

My Brilliant Friend (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Story of a New Name (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Story of the Lost Child (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Days of Abandonment (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Troubling Love (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Lost Daughter (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Lying Life of Adults (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Picture Books

The Beach at Night (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Frantumaglia (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Incidental Inventions (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
In the Margins (With: Ann Goldstein) (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Elena Ferrante Books, You’ll Love…

  • Magda Szabo
  • Alina Bronsky
  • Edward St. Aubyn

Elena Ferrante Synopses: The Days of Abandonment by Elena Ferrante is the story of a woman’s descent into emptiness after her husband leaves her with two young children to care for. When she finds herself literally trapped within the four walls of their high-rise apartment, she is forced to confront her ghosts, the potential loss of her own identity, and the possibility that life may never return to normal.

Troubling Love is a standalone title by Elena Ferrante. Following her mother’s untimely and mysterious death, Delia embarks on a voyage of discovery through the streets of her native Naples searching for the truth about her family. A series of mysterious telephone calls leads her to compelling and disturbing revelations about her mother’s final days.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Elena Ferrante Books

Leave a Reply