Elizabeth Smart
Elizabeth Smart (1913-1986) was a Canadian novelist and poet. She grew up in Ottawa, Ontario and her family had a summer home next to future Prime Minister Mackenzie King on Kingsmere Lake. Elizabeth had a long-running affair with poet George Barker, which included her having four children. She ended up living in London, England, where she became the highest-paid copywriter in the country and worked as editor of Queen magazine.

Elizabeth Smart made her debut as a novelist with the novel By Grand Central Station I Sat Down and Wept, which was her best-known work. Below is a list of Elizabeth Smart’s books in order of when they were first published:

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

By Grand Central Station I Sat Down and Wept (1945)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Assumption of Rogues and Rascals (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

A Bonus (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
In The Meantime (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Collected Poems (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Necessary Secrets (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Autobiographies (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Juvenilia (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Elizabeth's Garden (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
On the Side of the Angels (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Faber Book of Contemporary Canadian Short Stories(1990)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Elizabeth Smart Books, You’ll Love…

Elizabeth Smart Synopsis: By Grand Central Station I Sat Down and Wept documents Elizabeth Smart’s relationship with poet George Barker. Immediately, upon picking up a book of his poetry while browsing through a London bookshop, Smart fell in love with the poet. They would soon begin an indulgent love affair during which she gave birth to four of his children. He, however, remained legally married to his wife. This tale of passionate but fanatical love is a modern reflection of the Romantic poets.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Elizabeth Smart Books

Leave a Reply