Eric Ambler
Eric Ambler (1909-1998) was a British author of spy fiction and thriller novels as well as being a screenwriter. His novels often involve amateur protagonists forced to be in the company of enemies, consisting of spies and criminals. The protagonist is usually out of his league, but finds a way to pull through in the end. His novels The Mask of Dimitrios, Journey into Fear and The Light of Day (as Topkapi) were adapted to film.

Eric Ambler became a published novelist in 1936 with the novel The Dark Frontier. His final published work was the short story collection Waiting for Orders. Below is a list of Eric Ambler’s books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of Charles Latimer Books

The Mask of Dimitrios / A Coffin for Dimitrios (1939)Description / Buy at
The Intercom Conspiracy / Quiet Conspiracy (1969)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Valeshoff Books

Uncommon Danger / Background to Danger (1937)Description / Buy at
Cause for Alarm (1938)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Arthur Abdel Simpson Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Dark Frontier (1936)Description / Buy at
Epitaph for a Spy (1938)Description / Buy at
Journey Into Fear (1940)Description / Buy at
Skytip (1951)Description / Buy at
Judgment on Deltchev (1951)Description / Buy at
Tender To Danger / Moonlight (1951)Description / Buy at
The Schirmer Inheritance (1953)Description / Buy at
The Maras Affair (1953)Description / Buy at
Charter To Danger (1954)Description / Buy at
The Night Comers / State of Siege (1956)Description / Buy at
Passport To Panic (1958)Description / Buy at
Passage of Arms (1959)Description / Buy at
A Kind Of Anger (1964)Description / Buy at
The Levanter (1972)Description / Buy at
Doctor Frigo (1974)Description / Buy at
The Siege of Villa Lipp / Send No More Roses (1977)Description / Buy at
The Care of Time (1981)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Ability to Kill and Other Pieces (1964)Description / Buy at
Waiting for Orders (1991)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

To Catch a Spy (1966)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Great Cases of Scotland Yard (1978)Description / Buy at
Here Lies Eric Ambler: An Autobiography (1985)Description / Buy at
The Story So Far (1995)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Notes: The Mask of Dimitrios was also published under the title of A Coffin for Dimitrios. The Intercom Conspiracy was also published as Quiet Conspiracy. Uncommon Danger was also titled Background to Danger. The Light of the Day was also titled Topkapi. This Gun for Hire was also known as Dirty Story: A Further Account of the Life and Adventures of Arthur Abdel Simpson. The Night-Comers was also published as State of Siege. The Siege of the Villa Lipp was also titled Send No More Roses. Waiting for Orders was also published as The Story So Far.

The novels Skytip, Tender to Danger, The Maras Affair, Charter to Danger and Passport to Panic were written as Eliot Reed – a collaborative pen name of Ambler and Charles Rodda. Tender to Danger was also titled Tender to Moonlight.

If You Like Eric Ambler Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Eric Ambler Books

Leave a Reply