Fiona Davis is an American author known for her novels: The Lions of Fifth Avenue, The Magnolia Palace, The Chelsea Girls, and others.

Davis originally started in New York City by works as an actress in the theatre. She did Broadway plays, off-Broadway, and regional theaters. She would later go on to attend the Columbia Journalism School where she earned her master’s degree and fell in love with writing. She worked in a variety of different writing careers including as a freelance journalist, before eventually deciding on writing historical fiction.

Get notified when Fiona Davis releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Dollhouse (2016)Description / Buy at
The Address (2017)Description / Buy at
The Masterpiece (2018)Description / Buy at
The Chelsea Girls (2019)Description / Buy at
The Lions of Fifth Avenue (2020)Description / Buy at
The Magnolia Palace (2022)Description / Buy at
The Spectacular (2023)Description / Buy at
The Stolen Queen (2025)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Gimlet Slipla (With: Greg Wands) (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Point In Time Collection Books

Alison's Conviction (By: Thomas Keneally) (2022)Description / Buy at
Ash Wednesday (By: Paula McLain) (2022)Description / Buy at
We Are Bone and Earth (By: Esi Edugyan) (2022)Description / Buy at
Naomi's Gift (By: Martha Hall Kelly) (2022)Description / Buy at
A Wild Rose (2022)Description / Buy at
Landing (By: Olivia Hawker) (2022)Description / Buy at
Mother Swamp (By: Jesmyn Ward) (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Stories from Suffragette City(2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like Fiona Davis Books, You’ll Love…

Chelsea Girls takes place in the theater district of 1950s New York and the wild scene that existed at the Chelsea Hotel. The story focuses on playwright Hazel Riley and actress Maxine Mead who are determined to use it to their advantage. They are interested in breaking in, but they find that their biggest obstacle in getting there is political. Senator Joseph McCarthy and his Red Scare is sweeping the nation with people in the entertainment industry being focused on. There is pressure on everyone to name names as Hazel and Maxine’s Broadway are on the line.

Davis is also the author of The Lions of Fifth Avenue. This one takes place in 1913 New York where a series of book thefts are taking place at the New York Public Library. Laura is a mother and the wife of the superintendent of the New York Public Library. She decides to apply for the Columbia Journalism School and finds her whole world changed. She gets in with a group of women known as the Heterodoxy Club who change the way she looks at the world and cause her to question her role as a wife and mother. When some books are stolen from the library, she is forced to confront her changing values head on.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Fiona Davis Books

Leave a Reply